Time, Teenagers and Toby Mac

Posted: February 1, 2011 in Uncategorized

Tess, upon return from a concert:  “Toby Mac is OLD, mom!   He’s like FIFTY or something!”

Me: “He’s not old, Tess.  He’s got to be younger than I am.”

Tess (frantically googling):  “He was born in ’64, when were you born?”

Me: “’65.”

Silent pause while Tess mentally congratulates herself.

Me again: “He’s definitely not old.”

Oh, time.  You do move at breakneck pace, don’t you?  Regardless of changing trends and aging rockstars, I dare you not to secretly love this (and if you watch the crowd you may even see your 90’s ‘do):

So, here’s a fun question for the comments:  What was the first concert you ever attended?  Would you want to see that performer live today?

 

Tomorrow…a few words about time and the man that I married.

 

Jesus really is STILL alright with me,

 

Bo

Comments
  1. Jane Williams says:

    I saw Chicago in an outdoor theater in San Diego… Would I go and see them again? Heck, yeah!

  2. Bev P. says:

    “Chicago”—Oh yea!!!

  3. Karen says:

    Oh Bo! I took my kids to the Billy Graham youth night at Arco Arena in Sacramento and DC talk was this new group no one had heard of! My friend and I annoyed the kids by singing along to “Jesus is Just Alright” and they claimed we were OLD then! My little white (1991) Dodge Caravan was swaying to the beat all the way back to Chico that night.

  4. ci says:

    My first concert was Andre Crouch and the Disciples. Wow…I remember the thrill of being at a live concert for the first time and hearing their praises fill what is now the Arlene Schnitzer Aditorium in Portland. His encore that night was his new song, ‘Soon and Very Soon’. We purchased the new 8-track on the way out and sang it all the way home. Now that makes me old!

  5. bolovesjoe says:

    Oh, Cheryl, you get a triple point score for mentioning 8 track tapes! Such a grand memory for me because it reninds me that I may be out of touch with tecnology…but eventually my kids will be too. 🙂

  6. Joey Glenn says:

    Bo, so jealous right now! We wanted to go see Toby Mac so bad!

    Both the boys love him. We were getting his tweets week before last when he was in Bend all week visiting family and thinking, he is here? How dare he take time off and not give a concert? lol

    I absolutely fell in love with their Christian rap on Real Videos, Friday nights on TBN. I recorded Heavenbound on a VCR tape and about wore it out watching it over and over again.

    When I first saw DC Talk was at Bend High about ’92? First album. Heavenbound, no band, just 2 honks and a negro, with a keyboard singing a song.

    Not sure if that was my first concert. I also remember Mylon Lefevre and Broken heart, Whiteheart, 2nd Chapter of Acts, and I am sure there were a few others. Unfortunately, I really don’t remember what order they came in. That doesn’t make me old right? After all I was born in ’76. Definately not old.

    Awesome? Still! Old? Not feeling it! Just tell her it was bad lighting.

  7. kathy says:

    All i can say is “WOW” Dancing in my chair. JESUS!!!!!!

  8. I will unashamedly admit that I did attend a DC Talk concert and loved it! First concert for me was Petra. Now THAT makes me feel old!

  9. Heather Hiatt Sutter says:

    I think my very first concert was Petra! It reverberated loudly and awesomely in my young, 7th grade ears!

    But by far, DC Talk concerts were my favs, their hip-hoppin,’ lyrical grooves wove right in there with my hair-sprayed, curling-iron teased bangs to create a 90’s Jesus Freak who didn’t care what will people think … when i and my brother Andrew and friends Sarah and Luke cruised the city’s main street (“O”) with speakers blaring and windows open, “I don’t want it, i don’t want it, i don’t want your sex for now …..’til we take the vows!”

    Sigh.

    Perhaps i’ll spend the afternoon with my hairspray and some DC Talk. Hopefully i have enough. =)

  10. Victoria says:

    First concert was on my 13th birthday. I put on my first legit lip gloss that Whitney had given me and went with her and dad to–no joke–Go for Broke. Little did I know they would stay with me…FOREVER, Dun dun dun!!

  11. Joy says:

    John Denver at age 4. Not kidding, and I loved it.

Leave a Reply

