Battle Strategy #2: Sharing Space

Posted: January 14, 2011 in Uncategorized

I have always loved  my space.  Even as a little girl, I spent hours in my room, reading, writing and dreaming.  For me, quiet space = safety.  It’s a chance to clear my head and my thoughts and regroup a little.  I don’t think that desire is wrong, but it has gone off the rails at times in my life when I am faced with a fierce fight and I find myself retreating and then becoming isolated and alone.

One of my favorite places in the whole world is my office/prayer room.  As our adult children have packed up and moved to little nests of their own, I have had the luxury of creating a room full of peace.  My favorite chair, all my books and treasures, a fluffy throw,  my desk and a plethora of sticky notes  and highlighters (yay!) make this room my own secret garden.  I love it, and yet…I am learning to share it.  A few years ago, I determined that my family would not be shut out of my space or even my time with God.  So, unless I’m working on something urgent that requires utter privacy (since I am neither the Secretary of State nor a nuclear arms dealer, few things fall into this category), then my family knows they are always welcome to come in.  I don’t stop reading, praying or shopping on Amazon writing, but they are welcome to share this space.

While I love quiet, alone time, I am finding that there is so much strength in this unity of place.  It reminds me that I’ve been given really lovely traveling companions on this journey.  And it keeps me always mindful that Jesus is all about people and that He – more than anyone I know  – shares His space with us.

This is why my prayer room looked exactly like this today:

 

I really love this life.

Bo

Comments
  1. Arlene says:

    Bo,

    Thank you!

    Arlene

  2. I think it’s quite possible that Josiah has the one of the best moms ever. Really and truly.

  3. jane williams says:

    From someone who also cherishes MY space … this is something I needed to be reminded. Because truly, there’s nothing quite like savoring aloneness and quietness together.

  4. Tori's Mom says:

    Bo,

    Thank you for this.

    I too share your bent for a secret private place, especially for my quiet time with God.

    But sometimes my 5 year old grand daughter comes down to my basement apartment (which has no door) — just to be with me. Sometimes we read, or color.
    Sometimes we soak. Sometimes we worship with singing and dancing.
    Sometimes, like today, we watch Youtube videos of healing miracles or a flash-mob Hallelujah Chorus or an 11 year old boy revealing Jesus in every book of the Bible.

    She is being treated for leukemia. I am blessed to be her live-in grandma.
    THANKS for reminding me that it’s good to share.

  5. Victoria says:

    As someone who also REALLY loves the blank alone which I get to fill with my chosen sounds, pictures, words, and worlds, I really love this post.:) Also as someone who loves said solitude I’ve had season just like this one where I have had to remind myself to share(when I was 12 I read half of The Fellowship of the Ring on the couch while Dad watched football…or golf, which was more distracting actually). Thanks for sharing our lesson in sharing.:)

Leave a Reply

