Battle Strategy #1: Guarding the City

Posted: January 12, 2011 in Uncategorized

In Joshua 8, God sends Joshua to war against the city of Ai.  Joshua plans a clever strategy in which some of his army goes around behind the city and the rest marches right up to Ai’s front door.  Here’s what happens:

“And Joshua and all Israel pretended to be beaten before them and fled in the direction of the wilderness. So all the people who were in the city were called together to pursue them, and as they pursued Joshua they were drawn away from the city. Not a man was left in Ai or Bethel who did not go out after Israel. They left the city open and pursued Israel.

Can you imagine a more helpless feeling in the whole world than being faced with a fight to preserve your own life, all the while realizing everything you had been living for was going up in flames behind you? 

As I read this story, I thought over the past few months and it was so clear to me how many times I’ve been exactly like the army of Ai.  A big enemy comes marching at me and I frantically move all my energy, thoughts, prayers, resources and attention to that battlefield.  In the very beginning of Steve’s health fight, it was all I could think about and it consumed everything.  A few weeks in, however, I realized I had left some really important things unattended.  Bills still needed to be paid, laundry done, children loved, Kingdom invested in. Life still needed to be lived and lived well or I knew I would soon find myself caught between a health crisis AND a the flames of a financial crisis or – far worse – a kid crisis.  It was time to regroup and refocus on all the things that God had placed in my little city and start caring for them well.  I discovered in the process that it helped so much to do the things I could do instead of worrying about the one issue over which I had absolutely no control.

I’ve watched people fall to this trick so many times and I’ve done it myself more than once.  I’m trying to think more clearly in the heat of battle now.  It requires more maturity than comes naturally to me, but I really like the results.  How about you?  Ever found yourself outwitted in battle?  If not, could you make something up so I feel better about myself?  Heh.

Believing for big wins,

 

Bo

 

 

Comments
  1. Nita Belles says:

    I always say let go and let God. I always help God a lot though because I’m a very accomplished worrier, I mean prayer warrior. If I take my mind off the problem for one minute, it could jump right out of God’s hands. Besides, I’m brilliant, and if I keep worrying about the problem (we call this meditational prayer) I am liable to come up with a solution that God can help me carry out.

    Sooo, there ya go Bo. There’s some honest company for you. Love you tons my friend, and truly, I am praying.

  2. Eleanor says:

    What you have been experiencing is ‘common to all men’ in the Kingdom. Our first reaction in a big crisis is be totally absorbed in it. Then we realize all life around us must go on. I believe it’s the ‘human’ in us. Some may be more mature then others, but we are all God’s beloved children, and we grow as we overcome the temptations set before us. I do believe you and Steve, and all your family are going to come through strong. God doesn’t allow everyone to go through something like this – in a way it’s a privilege that He thought you able. Look what God put on Abraham! “I want you to sacrifice your son”. It wasn’t even “Give him up for someone else to do it – you do it”. I can’t even imagine how he felt when he heard those words. But, as he waited on the Lord, I do believe he finally realized that God had a plan for Isaac’s life, and if he actually had to plunge the knife into him, God would raise him from the dead.

  3. Eleanor says:

    Somehow I lost what I was writing, – must have pushed the wrong button. Anyway, God has His ways of taking us through situations, and His purpose is to make us more like His kids – so that we can be more of a blessing than we ever though we’d be. So, you’re doing great – and don’t feel like you haven’t handled things right – YOU HAVE and YOU ARE! Love you much.

  4. jane williams says:

    I’m sure we all have seen in this world and in the Word, how God loves the extreme opposites… Making Gideon get RID of army, instead of fortifying it, MARCHING around Jericho, instead of attacking it, GIVING UP the last bit of oil, instead of hanging on to it, forgiving instead of rectifying……… And like Eleanor said, the worse the scenario, the more HONORED by Him because He thinks…KNOWS..they can ‘handle’ it. (He will not give us more than we can handle.)
    SO, I guess what I’m saying is that we serve an EXtreme God, and being a participant in any EXtreme ‘sport’ is a ‘going for it’ and seeing the VICTORY before you even begin and not the crash (or crashes) which will be inevitable. But if your eye is on the crash, the victory is lost, and you might as well go back to playing shuffle board. I don’t know if it makes it any easier, but it at least puts the purpose into the ‘senseless’, reminds us of the KNOWNS in the midst of the ‘unknowns’ (which are often worse). And bottom line is He loves us, regardless of circumstances. And when pain is too evident… then from His perspective: a baby is on the way! Sending prayers.

Leave a Reply

