Heart Check

Posted: January 4, 2011 in Uncategorized

This verse in Deuteronomy 29 struck me right between the eyes:

“Be sure there is no root among you bearing poisonous and bitter fruit.”   (verse 18)

It’s always easy for me to sniff out the bitter toxins in other people’s lives, but not as easy to see it in myself.  Fortunately, Moses also addressed this very issue:

“When someone hears the words of this oath, he may bless himself in his mind, thinking, ‘I will have peace even though I follow my own stubborn heart.’ This will lead to the destruction of the well-watered land as well as the dry land.

Oh dear.  How sad it would be to wage the fight to take possession of the things that God has called me to, only to get to the end of my life and find that they’re dried up and fruitless because of my poisonous thinking that I really thought was justified.

My prayer today is that the Holy Spirit will make me really good at seeing myself and identifying the things that are strangling out hope, vision, joy and LIFE.

Comments
  1. Short and powerful. Very good post. And you have a good blog. Enjoyed the visit.
    wb

  2. bolovesjoe says:

    Thanks, Warren – I appreciate that. Glad you stopped by! – Bo

  3. jane williams says:

    ok, so this is my first visit to your blog, but definitely not my last (i’m needing to spare my husband some long conversations too!) and i totally agree with warren about your blog (thanks to gail for letting me know it exists). this scripture hit me square between the eye, and i had to look it up to see it for myself. it truly would be sad if i my own self-professed ‘sight’ was really just a blindness that i had become comfortable with.
    Search me, God, and know my heart;
    test me and know my anxious thoughts.
    24 See if there is any offensive way in me,
    and lead me in the way everlasting.

  4. bolovesjoe says:

    Mmmm…Jane, I love your line “blindness I had become comfortable with”. I’ve been there and it’s a perfect description. Thanks for visiting and sharing your heart – it blessed me. -Bo

Leave a Reply

