It’s that time of year…

Posted: December 22, 2010 in Uncategorized

No, not when the world falls in love (although it may be that too and since I’m already in love, I’m just not paying attention).  It’s that time of year when Bo buys her BIBLE!  Yay!  Rejoice and stuff!

Last year, I admitted to this odd behavior and I got some support and some You’re Nuts.  But I’m okay with that because I’ve got enough years into this practice that – at least for myself – I believe in it.  Now, I have to admit that I’m running out of translations.  So, unless I’m willing to learn a little mandarin in my free time, I may need to reconsider buying a new Bible for 2012 and move to an every other year policy instead.  For now, though, I can’t wait to get my hands on a fresh, clean, ready-to-be-read-and -loved Word of God.

After hardly any shopping at all, this is what I picked:

This is not a study Bible, it is a devotional Bible.  This means that it does not contain many study notes and contains a LOT of devotional notes, written by none other than Clive Staples Lewis.  If I were just starting out in this Bible-reading adventure, I would have chosen a Bible with study notes, but I have a lot of them and a lot of reference books, so I don’t need that at this point.  What I do love, however, is someone else’s voice in the mix of this great mystery, reminding me as I read that there’s always more to find, more to experience, more to behold in His Word.  No one does that quite like CS Lewis.

I know I’m a sap, but this little quote almost made me cry:

Do you see that beautiful thing?  Do you?  If you don’t, it says this:  “No philosophical theory which I have yet come across is a radical improvement on the words of Genesis, “In the beginning God made heaven and earth.”

See?  That’s exactly the kind of company I’m looking for before sunrise!

Here’s another page for your beholdment:

So, that’s what’s going down this year.  I’m so excited to launch another 365 days, tied closely to truth.  I will argue til the day I die:  it’s the right way to live your life.

Now I’d love to know:  what’s your Bible -reading plan for 2011?  Are you using your trusty old KJV?  Trying something new?  Working a new Bible reading plan?  Shooting from the hip?  Share the news, friends!  We’ll all learn from each other.

Incidentally, for those of you in Central Oregon, I’ll be speaking on The Inerrancy of the Word of God at Westside on January 2 and I can’t wait!  I’ve never been so excited to speak a message and I’d love it if you could come.

Believing in Truth,

Bo

Comments
  1. Jenn Hoff says:

    Well sheesh…now my Bible reading plan looks exactly like yours. A CS Lewis Bible? Are you kidding me? And it has an aqua blue cover? Why do these things make my heart so very happy?

    On another note…at exactly the moment I was reading your witty quip about learning Mandarin, Steve was next to me and elbowed me to watch this:

    So clearly…you’ll not have to actually learn Mandarin now. They have an app for that…?!
    Mind blowing!

  2. Nita Belles says:

    Ok. Well last year I was so excited about my newest addition to the Bible family…this year yours is looking pretty darned good! Could happen that Amazon.com could loose one of these today! 🙂

    Merry Christmas my dear friend! And may 2011 be full of Joy by Surprise.

  3. Gail says:

    I have never thought of changing up my old Bible for a new one.. what an awesome idea.. I guess I have never thought of it.. I loved this one.. may have to put one under the tree for myself.. thanks for sharing Bo..

  4. bolovesjoe says:

    Oh, friends if you’re interested in this Bible it’s on sale at http://www.christianbooks.com and it’s cheaper than Amazon which is very unusual. It’s $60 and I got it for $25.

    Jennie – I loved that. It really is amazing and I’m certain there is a great sermon illustration in there somewhere. 😉

  5. Arlene Hiatt says:

    Many years past, God spoke to me to set aside my old Bible with all my bible school notes in it . . . not an easy thing at the time . . . and to use a new bible. Since then, I have purchased a new Bible every other year. Love a fresh Bible to read and underline and write fresh notes! The Bible I am currently using is only 1 year old but am buying a new one for 2011. Interestingly enough . . . the one I’m drawn to is the C.S. Lewis Bible.

  6. helenw13 says:

    LOVE LOVE LOVE this Bible…thanks for the recommendation…I cashed in some Barnes and Noble real estate and added a coupon…and it’s all mine!
    Feels like such perfect timing as I have been re-reading Narnia and find such gold!

    Hugs,

    Helen

Leave a Reply

