Singing in the Season

Posted: December 2, 2010 in Uncategorized

For the past five or so Christmasses, I’ve been on a search for a brilliant, go-to Christmas album.  I’ll find some I sorta like, but I tend to get bored fast and move on.   I do this with non-holiday tunes as well, so my music ADD is exacerbated by the fact that really, there aren’t that many Christmas songs out there so I often feel like my ipod is on continual repeat.  I’m happy to report, however, that I’m in definite like with these two albums and I think there is potential here for love to develop over time.

Dave Barnes: Very Merry Christmas is full of original songs with a fun, light – but still seasonal – sort of vibe.  Clearly, I’m not a music reviewer so I have no clever words to tell you why I like this one so much…only that I do like this one so much.  Christmas Tonight is my favorite track because it reminds me of an updated Baby, It’s Cold Outside which is quite possibly the funnest holiday song ever written.  You can download this whole album on Amazon for 5 bucks.

Released in 2008, The Hotel Cafe presents…Winter Songs is a compilation of mostly traditional Christmas songs and a few originals by female artists like Brandi Carlile, Sara Bareilles, Katy Perry and Fiona Apple.  I don’t love every single song, but I do love most of them and I really enjoy the spin each of these ladies puts on their selection.   Favorite track so far is Sara Bareilles Winter Song and I also love the smoky, acapella version of Auld Lang Syne (a song which is oddly emotional for me and I should probably take some time to figure out why).

So, those are two of my finds this year.  Please help me add to the Christmas cheer and tell me about the must-hear holiday music ’round your home.

And just for fun, here’s the video of Dave Barnes song, Christmas Tonight:


Comments
  1. Victoria says:

    “And I should probably take some time to figure out why.” Haha! That song is super cute and less skanky than the 1940’s song which is impressive.:) I sincerely love the Christmas songs “What I Want for Christmas” by SheDaisy, “Wish I had a River” performed by Sarah Mc-Whatever, and “Blue Christmas” by one Elvis Presley. Ooo, but check out this fresh take on it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0yctUNlr8wI

  2. Susie Kay says:

    I, too, am picky about music. I mostly do not like pop music and that includes a lot of the Christian albums. But there are some I love…

    What I do love is Choral music – traditional music mostly. I attended the Mastersingers concert recently and absolutely loved it all. It was Cathedral music. It put me in la la land – not the sort of music I could listen to while driving…

    For Christmas – I find that Josh Groban’s Noel is pleasant. Susie

  3. Jamie says:

    I laughed when I read this because I have been listening to Veggie Tales Christmas CD on repeat. =) Maybe someday I will return to grown up music.

  4. Katie Scott says:

    Ahem…Lady Antebellum. 🙂

  5. Kim McCray says:

    Hi Bo — it was great to see you last night. My all time favorite Christmas CD is “The Carols of Christmas, A Wyndham Hill Collection”. It is a smooth jazz CD with traditional Christmas songs and gets me in the Spirit of Christmas the minute I begin to listen to it!

Leave a Reply

