Bounty

Posted: November 25, 2010 in Uncategorized

“To these bounties, which are so constantly enjoyed that we are prone to forget the source from which they come, others have been added, which are of so extraordinary a nature, that they cannot fail to penetrate and soften even the heart which is habitually insensible to the ever  watchful providence of Almighty God.” – Abraham Lincoln, Thanksgiving Proclamation 1863

Today, I am mindfully thankful for these bounties in my life:

  • My husband, whose strength of spirit amazes me.
  • My children, whose very existence reminds me that  He. Is. Faithful.
  • My friends, who have gone above and beyond the call of duty and all good sense to help me face a big fight by lending me their great faith.
  • Health…and the health that is coming.
  • Safe water, plenty of food, freedom to worship and all other manner of abundance that comes from living in this great country.
  • And considering that first Thanksgiving feast, I am also grateful for electricity, my Kitchen Aid and my dearly beloved DISHWASHER which is already running this morning).

Finally, I’m thankful for the temporary nature of most of these blessings because they point us to the permanent world that is waiting.  I don’t know what heaven will be like, but I do think I’ll have a blog and I’m excited to see what my Thanksgiving list will look like then and there.

May your day be filled with the great gifts of God and the time to enjoy them,

Bo

Comments
  1. Jalet says:

    This was posted by my long time dear friend Debbie, but doesn’t this quote just sum it all up?

    “Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life. It turns what we have into enough, and more. It turns denial into acceptance, chaos to order, confusion to clarity. It can turn a meal into a feast, a house into a home, a stranger into a friend. Gratitude makes sense of our past, brings peace for today and creates a vision for tomorrow. ” -Melodie Beattie

  2. Jamie says:

    Love the image of you sitting behind a computer in heaven, blogging away. If there are blogs in heaven, I want to be your blogger friend. Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

