We Thank Thee Lord, for this our Food

Posted: November 19, 2010 in Uncategorized

OH, glory!  How I love Thanksgiving!  It’s “warmth” personified.  This year’s menu will again be a study in American culinary excess and I, for one, could not be more excited!  Our dinner is looking like this:

Always on the agenda for pre-meal activities is:  get a newspaper early in the morning and go through the Black Friday ads,  watch football, and sing this song before we eat.  It’s an old musical prayer from my Mennonite heritage and I love it more than words can say:

We thank Thee, Lord, for this our food

God is love, God is love

But more because of Jesus’ blood

God is love, God is love

These mercies bless, and grant that we

May eat and drink and live with Thee

May eat and drink and live with Thee

God is love, God is love

I can promise that more than any year ever, hearing my family sing this song will make me cry in all the right sorts of way.

Behold: Fantastic food, amazing friends and family and a day set aside just to enjoy it.

And, of course I always want to know:  what’s on your menu this year?

Comments
  1. Ken says:

    My menu includes get up sort of early. Start watching the parade; 15 minutes or so before the parade is over (you know, right before Santa shows up) listen to my wife start to stress out about the house needing cleaned, help in the kitchen, set up the table, etc. This will result in my missing Santa show up followed by a couple hours of franticness and trying to get the kids to cooperate.
    Sometime later in the afternoon my mom and brother will show up and we will eat: Turkey (non glazed), mashed potatoes, salad, stuffing, maybe corn, my mom and brother will eat Brussel Sprouts (eww), and maybe some other traditional food.
    This will be accompanied by overly loud talking because my brother is going deaf, stories I pretend to want to hear because it’s polite, more trying to get the kids to cooperate by helping with dishes.
    There is a 50% chance, based on past experience, that I will make a trip to the ER for some reason for my brother.
    All in all it will be a generally non relaxing, sort of annoying day and I will be extremely thankful for the food, the family, and the Lord that I get to spend it with.

  2. Janis Trachtenberg says:

    Wow!!! Very gourmet!! Wish I could be a hidden taster!!!
    But fortunately for you…I will be at my brother and sister in law’s in Portland. My brother always bar b ques a turkey so I look forward to that.
    May the Lord richly bless you and your sweet family on this occasion of Thanksgiving. Love you guys… you are all a blessing to me.

  3. Vangi says:

    Finally — the full words to that song! That’s it, I’m inspired to teach it to my family — they’re gonna love it. I think I will be at the US Embassy residence eating imported turkey and a smattering of what other Americans around the world will contribute. I’m contributing pies…and some kind of salad. For sure, there will be no bourbon or sherry anything in our “dry” country. 🙂 Should be an experience. Thanks for sharing!

    love,

    Vangi

  4. Vangi says:

    Okay, just one more comment on this post from me: after reading and humming the song above, it suddenly dawned on me: my cultural heritage includes combining the words “food” and “love” in the same song. I so get it now! 🙂

  5. Pam says:

    For the first time in my family’s history, we are staying home. We will have a few of our adopted kids and friends with us, but it will be ours alone this year. And I am looking very forward to it – even the task of doing all the cooking by myself seems sacred and precious, for I can think of no greater privilege and joy than to express my love in this way for my dear husband, our three spectacular sons and the beautiful people we are honored to share this meal and day with. Even shopping today was precious – how fortunate and blessed I am to be able to load my car up with food…that is not something I take for granted – my cup runneth over as does my gratitude.

    So the menu I’ve prepared, but is growing and changing as inspiration dictates, is as follows:

    Turkey (in the brine you suggested….can’t wait!)
    Oyster Stuffing (hate oysters, love oyster stuffing…go figure)
    Creamy Mashed Potatoes & gravy
    Orange Brandied Praline Yams
    Citrus Cranberry Sauce (Hey! Same one as you’re using!)
    Thomas Keller’s Creamed Onions w/bacon and chives (added this morning when i saw that trader joes has frozen onions ready to go!)
    Broccoli Salad
    Fall Fruit Salad
    Rolls – ugh…have yet to find a recipe i want to use
    Pecan Pie (my favorite pie and i’ve NEVER made one…what up wit’ dat?)
    Peach/Blueberry Cobbler

    Let the feasting and laughing and gratituding begin!

  6. Faith Smith says:

    Holy Food! I’m coming to your house next year… I don’t believe I’ve sever seen such a magnificant spread in my lifetime (yet)!

Leave a Reply

