When one thing Leads to Another

Posted: November 15, 2010 in Uncategorized

1. My husband leaves on a business trip.

2. I decide I really want to watch this:

 

Because it’s funny (“Who’s chasing YOU, Jules?  No one!”)  and I am in the market for funny.  So, I searched several stores and didn’t find it anywhere because it’s old.  I think it was made in the 90’s which makes it roughly comparable to the Dead Sea Scrolls in movie years.  Though I came up empty, my search did lead me to

3.  buy this movie:

 

Now, let me just note:  I love Toy Story.  However, this one was sort of creepy and sad and a little bit hard on my heart.  Just sayin.

4. I also may have grabbed this guy while I was there because I cannot turn down a $5 deal to save my ever-loving life!

And, yes, it’s possible that we owned this movie once before and it’s also entirely possible that we still own the case but cannot find the actual DVD  any-stinking-where.  Sigh.  Whoever said making movies smaller would be more convenient for people did not spend much time in my basement.

A day later, still wishing for my original movie, I

5. searched Amazon and found it for only $3 + shipping.  Much rejoicing ensued.  But wait…what’s that lurking right below my $3 dollar movie?

 

6. There’s a good chance I went ahead and purchased this instead for .50 more.

7. And this whole episode made me remember one of my favorite Julia Robert’s movies ever.  Which happened to be available for the low, low price of $2+shipping:

Yay, Runaway Bride.  It’s definitely one of my go-to movies right behind While You Were Sleeping which I love, but only own in VHS form and – hey…wait a minute!

9.  Sister Mercy!  Why doesn’t somebody stop me?

 

9. And finally, my daughter convinced me that we need this for our upcoming pre-Christmas vacation:

 

I’m sorry, but how brilliant is this idea?  Christmas episodes of your favorite tv shows all on one handy-dandy DVD?  Brilliant!

The irony of this post is that I can rarely stay awake through one movie, much less this mess o’ flicks.  Still, something about having fun and happy viewing at my fingertips makes the winter ahead look a little less harsh.

Behold: Silly treasures that make our journey here a little lighter.   I’m really thankful.

 

How about you?  Do you have a go-to movie for long, snowy Saturdays?

Comments
  1. ci says:

    It won’t surprise you that I like everything you purchased. Also, around the holidays only, I like It’s a Wonderful Life and White Christmas, although I fast forward a large part of all the songs in White Christmas. I’ve always been more a dialogue person rather than lyrics. 🙂 The tradition and warm memories of both these movies call me back year after year right around Thanksgiving.

  2. megan says:

    It’s all about White Christmas. Also the first home alone.

  3. Jenn Hoff says:

    …and this earned an actual, literal lol. Not the pretend kind that you just write but never actually do. The real kind that makes your husband say, “pretty funny, huh” about which he knows naught!

    ~While You Were Sleeping (also in the original VHS. “Is he leaning, Lucy? Because it looks like he might be leaning…”).

    ~The Wedding Planner (“Nooo. Wendy is the poor man’s Mary.” “You are exquisite, and you have the love of a man who just this morning said to me…”)

    …and while I do have my gilded copy of Wedding Planner, I do not own the other half of your brilliant Double Feature and now feel an aching desire to watch that one about Best Friends and Weddings. Perhaps a borrowing arrangement could be reached over lunch 😉
    xo
    You are fine and cute!

  4. Tara Jean says:

    CAn I borrow your “while you were sleeping” someday? It isn’t on insta watch and it is such a fav!
    Love it at Christmas and White Christmas!

  5. Annie says:

    The Family Stone. It’s by far my favorite movie ever. I reserve it only for November and December, so I’m super excited to watch it by the time the season begins! Be prepared to do a little crying, but the big family dynamics are fantastic.

  6. Debby says:

    Definitely White Christmas and A Christmas Carol during the holidays…but any day that it is raining, snowing and my girls are home….cuddled on the couch, blankets, hot chocolate and “Little Women”. It doesn’t get any better 🙂

  7. bolovesjoe says:

    Yes! All movies are borrowable and swappable! 🙂

  8. Angie says:

    We always have to watch “The Muppet Christmas Carol”. It just isn’t Christmas until we’ve seen it. 🙂

  9. Victoria says:

    Dan in Real Life is a holiday MUST. Also the holiday(jack black at his most and possibly only adorable) and for sure white Christmas, I have a major crush on Danny kay. Oddly enough I like to watch Spirit: Stallion on the Cimmeron around thanksgiving because i remember one fantasic holiday when Taylor Inman and I watched it together. 🙂 ah the cinematic experience of the holidays.

Leave a Reply

