Death in His Grave

Posted: November 9, 2010 in Uncategorized

Psalm 13 is currently one of the Psalms of my life.  Don’t read it if you’re feeling happy and well, it will only depress you.  Do read it if you’re feeling discouraged because it’ll let you know you’re normal and that dark seasons aren’t the end of the story.  This morning I studied and studied that Psalm.  I looked at David’s word choices in the Hebrew,  and let the meaning wash over me.  For maybe the first time ever, I really understood his heart when he says, “How long will I store up anxious concerns within me, agony in my mind every day?  How long will my enemy dominate me?”

And, at the very end, I also absorbed more intently than ever before,  the  meaning and the cost of this vow:  “I will sing to the Lord because He has treated me generously”.    My commentary calls this verse a “prophetic perfect” of anticipation.  With hope and expectancy of the deliverance that’s surely coming his way, David busts out a song.

Today my emotions want to land in verses 1-4.  But I am choosing to move my will straight to verse 6 and prophetically perfect the thing that God has already promised.  There are some things standing between me and victory right now…this is the song I’m using as the battering ram.

Important note for impatient people: It starts a little slow, but please don’t give up on it because I promise it absolutely blows the doors off about halfway in.

Death In His Grave
Written by John Mark McMillan
Copyright 2008 Integrity Worship Music

Though the earth cried out for blood, satisfied her hunger was
Billows calmed on raging seas for the souls on men she craved
Sun and moon from balcony turned their head in disbelief
The precious Love would taste the sting disfigured and disdained

On Friday a thief, on Sunday a King
Laid down in grief, but awoke with the keys
To Hell on that day, first born of the slain
The Man Jesus Christ laid death in his grave

So three days in darkness slept, the Morning Sun of righteousness
But rose to shame the throes of death and overturn his rule
Now daughters and the sons of men would pay not their dues again
The debt of blood they owed was rent when the day rolled anew

On Friday a thief, on Sunday a King
Laid down in grief, but awoke with the keys
To Hell on that day, first born of the slain
The Man Jesus Christ laid death in his grave
death in his grave (3x)

He has cheated
Hell and seated
Us above the fall
In desperate places
He paid our wages
One time once and for all

Comments
  1. ci says:

    Wow. Now I have my answer that I asked you this morning and also have a powerful reminder of the God we serve and trust. Thank you for posting your words and this video. I think this is what it’s like to follow someone’s grief to Jesus. Powerful.

  2. jenn hoff says:

    🙂
    Yes. This song has been my version of that same thing.

    “BUT…
    I trust in your unfailing. Yes my heart will rejoice.
    Still I’ll sing of your unfailing love.
    You have been good,
    You will be good to me.”

  3. Lorelei says:

    Hey Bo,
    I just wanted to thank you for being vocal; for whatever that means and whatever it might be worth during this season. You’re incredible at contrasting the good and beautiful things of God with the foul and rotten things that life tends to bring. You’re identity is incredible, yours and your family’s, and I’m glad to be amongst the ranks of people who’ve been able to know you guys, even from a distance. Thank you for being people who are willing to let other’s see what God can do in and through you as He leads you through the unknown areas of life by faith. I guess what I’m really trying to say is, ‘Thank you for going first and for going so far and for giving the gift of going second to so many who watch you.’ Seeing you allow God’s word to move you to the next levels of glory and faith makes it a much more believable and attainable thing for myself and my family (on both sides now;)). Trey and I and all of us over here and praying for you guys. Much love!

Leave a Reply

