Circling the Citadel

Posted: October 11, 2010 in Uncategorized

This morning when I went to do my devotions, I went straight to Psalm 47 (God is a very present help in time of trouble).  It’s kind of my go-to “desperation” passage, and I have been veering exclusively toward those scriptures for the past three weeks.  This morning, however, I just couldn’t get my brain around it and I glanced at Psalm 48 and I just felt like the hand of God was pointing it out to me and saying, “This one, Bo!”  It’s a GREAT Psalm.  In fact, I’ll paste it in at the end of this so you can see for yourself.  It’s a psalm of rejoicing and the rejoicing is over a very specific issue:  God’s victory over our enemies and the establishment of His government in our lives.  It’s beautiful and strong.  Verse 12 & 13 described for me my Truth Declarations:  taking a moment to circle round the work of God and write down it’s dimension in my life.  In doing so, the instruction is to ”cease recalling disappointment”…oh, how I love it!

What I felt God was saying to me is that today, October 11, 2010, is not a crying out day, it’s a rejoicing day.  A victory day.  I’ve been tempted throughout the morning to just ask Him one thing real quick…just one more suggestion for how He could work my life out and fix my fear.  But every time, I just feel Him smile at me and say, “Bo, it’s a rejoicing day.”

I’m sharing this because I feel in my heart it may be for you as well.  Just maybe, this is a day in your life that marks a new season.   Perhaps this is exactly t he right time to cease recalling disappointments and instead, walk around this big beautiful legacy He has built for us and take the measurements, count up our treasure, rejoice in the way He has triumphed over our enemies and will continue to level every one.

Here’s Psalm 48 – roll around in it a bit and feel the thrill of victory in and over and through your life.

With a Joyful Shout,

Bo

Psalm 48 (The Amplified)

GREAT IS the Lord, and highly to be praised in the city of our God! His holy mountain,

2Fair and beautiful in elevation, is the joy of all the earth–[a]Mount Zion [the City of David], to the northern side [Mount Moriah and the temple], the [whole] city of the Great King!(A)

3God has made Himself known in her palaces as a Refuge (a High Tower and a Stronghold).

4For, behold, the kings assembled, they came onward and they passed away together.

5They looked, they were amazed; they were stricken with terror and took to flight [affrighted and dismayed].

6Trembling took hold of them there, and pain as of a woman in childbirth.

7With the east wind You shattered the ships of Tarshish.

8As we have heard, so have we seen in the city of the Lord of hosts, in the city of our God: God will establish it forever. Selah [pause, and calmly think of that]!

9We have thought of Your steadfast love, O God, in the midst of Your temple.

10As is Your name, O God, so is Your praise to the ends of the earth; Your right hand is full of righteousness (rightness and justice).

11Let Mount Zion be glad! Let the daughters of Judah rejoice because of Your [righteous] judgments!

12Walk about Zion, and go round about her, number her towers (her lofty and noble deeds of past days),

13Consider well her ramparts, go through her palaces and citadels, that you may tell the next generation [and cease recalling disappointments].

14For this God is our God forever and ever; He will be our guide [even] until death.

Comments
  1. Annie says:

    BO!!
    Oh how I needed this!! I too have been having a lot of fears, and disappointments, and each morning have been waking with an anxiety in the pit of my stomach that just won’t go away until I give thanks and praise.
    I will make this a day of rejoicing in a new season as well!!
    Thank you, and much love!
    Annie

  2. Deb says:

    Me too, me too. This verse and your post spoke to me in such a strong and bold way. Thank you. Today is a new season, and no matter what frustrations, fears and disappointments that have come in the past I will rejoice in this new day. Yay!!!!
    Deb

  3. Cathy Wood says:

    What a great word for me today. You have no idea but God does!!! And I agree with you for your situation!!! Help us Lord to believe you and your word today!! Love, Cathy

  4. Susie Kay says:

    I am fortunate – I am not afraid. I have been, but have been able to give it to Jesus and not take it back. That goes for disappointments too. He is in charge and I am content to have Him be in charge of me, of my time, of my thoughts, and of my future. He has never failed me – I have failed Him, but He has forgiven me. I am blessed but so are you. Out of your blessings – you bless me and SO MANY others. Your transparency helps us all to find a higher level of ground on which to stand. Keep standing – we stand together. Thank you for sharing Psalm 48 especially verse 10:

    As is Your name, O God, so is Your praise to the ends of the earth; Your right hand is full of righteousness.

  5. K Johnson says:

    A dear friend and I broke through HUGE valleys today… we both experienced the love and REALITY of the LORD responding to us today in a way that we were both desperate for. It IS the day of a new season!!! I LOVE it when the UNITY of the Spirit, moving among His people is evident!!! AMEN to a day of REJOICING!

Leave a Reply

