119: Watching the Signs

Posted: September 13, 2010 in Uncategorized

Here’s a series of verses from my beloved Psalm 119 that are built on the same life-saving theme:

119:9 How can a young person live a clean life?  By carefully reading the map of Your Word.

119:10  I’m single minded in pursuit of You; don’t let me miss the road signs You’ve posted.

119:15 I ponder every morsel of wisdom from You, I attentively watch how You’ve done it.

119:16  I relish everything You’ve told me of life, I won’t forget a word of it.

119:29 Barricade the road the goes to Nowhere; grace me with Your clear revelation.  I choose the true road to Somewhere, I post Your road signs at every curve and corner.  I grasp and cling to whatever You tell me.

I could go on and on about all that these verses mean to me, but I think that it can best be said simply:  pay attention.  God’s sign posts are everywhere; in the Word, in the world, in my spirit, in good counsel.  He lovingly sends these map moments to show us which way to go and if we’ll watch and follow, we could save ourselves a lot of wasted weeks in the Land of Nowhere.

Behold:  clear direction.  It’s beautiful.

Also – here’s my favorite road sign of all time:

Happy Monday,

Bo



Comments
  1. Karen says:

    Perfect for the kind of icky day I’m having. I think the sign is clearly saying something profound to me.

    It seems I/we’ve started on a new journey so thank you Bo for the reminder to be watching for God’s road signs – and to look for the big picture.

    <
    Karen-in-Tigard

Leave a Reply

