A Page from the Journal: Heaven & Autumn

Posted: August 18, 2010 in Uncategorized

I was reading over my journal from a year ago, and ran into this little heavenly ode to fall:

Revelation 4:1+ Then I looked, and, oh! – a door open into Heaven.  The trumpet-voice, the first voice in my vision, called out, “Ascend and enter.  I’ll show you what happens next.”  I was caught up in deep worship and, oh! – a Throne set in Heaven with One seated on the Throne, suffused in gem hues of amber and flame with a nimbus of emerald.

Revelation started out with such a beautiful bang:  “Ascend and enter.” Wow.  I can’t imagine how that must have made John feel.  Well, actually, I don’t have to imagine because he tells me:  “I was caught up in deep worship.”  This book is so much more intriguing and meaningful to me since studying John’s life this year.  His heart – so tenderized by the triumph and tragedies that are inherent to life with Jesus – especially NT life with Jesus – is finely tuned to feast on the love of God wherever he finds it.  He finds it here – in an invitation to come up and in to the holy place he’s been waiting for so long.  Beautiful.

And here’s an interesting thing:  heaven is ablaze with the colors of fall.  “suffused in gem hues of amber and flame with a nimbus of emerald…”  However silly it may sound, this scripture was so much life to me today. It reconnected the lifeline from the God who created heaven to the God who made earth.  He has designed our planet with hints of heaven.  He created for us a world that He Himself would love.  Earth was never meant to be a heartache to mankind…it was meant to be an extravagant playground, an energized city, a lovely home.  As John peers into the portal of eternity, he discovers things that are astounding and others that are just as they should be.  Glimpses of a world designed by a God who is crazy about His creation.

I am crazy about Your creation too, God.  I am.  The colors of fall absolutely knock me out.  And Mt. Bachelor, blanketed in the first falling of snow.  And the turquoise blue of the Sea of Cortez.  And one perfect pink peony.  And Josiah Stern’s cowlick.  Tess’ fall-colored hair.  Tori’s perfect nose and Whitney’s overall loveliness.  Corey and Steve are strong and tall and kind.  All these dear ones are works of Your hand and You are a magnificent creator.  I’m not astounded that You can make such beauty in my world…but I’m simply amazed that You would share it with me.  I mean, You don’t just let me look at it, You let me know and love and have real relationship with these gifts from Your hand.  And most of all, You invite me to relationship with You.  The words, “Ascend and enter,” have never been more real to me than they are this morning.  I know that the biggest and most triumphant entry into Your presence is yet to come, but I’m so thankful for this one today.  I’m thankful for a small portal of my own, where I can catch a peek into eternity and see Your purposes and personality stretching all the way to my Sunday.  To my season.  To my heart.

Comments
  1. K Johnson says:

    Thanks so much for sharing all that you share, Bo, but particularly this glimpse into a real conversation between you and the Holy One!! Lovely, and greatly inspring. Thanks.

    Faithful Reader,
    Katie J

Leave a Reply

