What I Learned from The Bachelorette

Posted: August 3, 2010 in Uncategorized

True confession:  I watch The Bachelorette.  I seriously do.  Not even like “while I was flipping through the channels, I happened to catch a minute of this show…”  Nope.  I intentionally watch it nearly every Monday.  I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t schedule anything around it, but if I’m home I definitely can be found shrieking at my television set while it’s on.   Now, since one of my core values is to be a lifelong learner, here are the things I’ve learned from watching this madness:

  1. Many an otherwise intelligent woman has been undone by the lethal combination of 1 available man + no outside contact +  copious amounts of alcohol.   (Note to single women everywhere:  dating in a bubble is a bad idea…you need outside voices to keep you safe and sane.  Note to single women – Part 2:  don’t drink copious amounts of alcohol and if you do, wait until you’re married and he’s stuck with you.)
  2. I’m still amazed at people who go on a reality show and complain about editing.  It’s like going to Vegas and complaining that the decor is over the top.
  3. It’s one thing to watch women all lined up in a nice, single file line of cutthroat competition, but it’s a whole other level of crazy to see men do it.  And yet, in reality, men competing for the heart of a woman is much closer to the roots of our civilization.
  4. In a compassionate society, there are things we will not ask/allow people who are Stage 5 crazy to do and reality TV ought to be on that list.  Sadly, it is not.
  5. Maturity is a rare and beautiful thing.

Not sure why I felt compelled to share this, but I feel better having cleared the air.

Behold:  reality television.  It makes me feel intelligent and well-adjusted.

Comments
  1. Claudia says:

    Dito to all of the above!!! I watched it also…..I guess just for the excitment of finding out ‘who’ she chooses. But to say the least, I usually get upset just to see how many men she feels it is O.K. to kiss and make-out with while in the process. I feel like she is used material before she even gets to the final one.

    I do, as you do, feel much more sane after watching it though because I know I have a higher power that gives me a much better standard to guide my life by!

    THANK-YOU for sharing!!

  2. Holly says:

    From this 40ish, mature (rare & beautiful) woman who does not hang out at bars and has yet to be married- I see the danger for me in watching such a show, so thank you for the recap lest I begin stalking the cash register lineup at Sportsmans Warehouse 🙂

  3. Whitney says:

    LOL Holly! If I weren’t married I’d probably go for the line-up at Guitar Center instead, but I see your point! 😉

Leave a Reply

