Behold: Indian Comfort Food

Posted: July 23, 2010 in Uncategorized

Behold:  this stuff!

Mae Ploy Yellow Curry Paste.  If you’ve ever spent $6 on a bottle of curry spice, you will love this stuff instead.  I grabbed a 2 POUND bucket at Cash & Carry for about $3 – it makes 100 servings of curry.  But the bigger news is:  it’s so much better than the spice.  It’s a blend of several Indian spices, heavy on the curry, and it’s just delicious and so easy to use.

I stir-fried about 2 teaspoons of paste in 1 tablespoon of olive oil for a couple of minutes.  The aroma is amazing!  Then I added one can of coconut milk (which, by the way, is about $3 at Safeway and only .89 at Cash & Carry) and one chopped onion.  I let that simmer while the rice was cooking.  I know traditional curry also has potatoes, but I’m not a fan – you could sure add them, though, if you love ’em.  After about 15 minutes, I threw in 3 cups of  chopped boneless chicken breast.  Serve over rice and be sure to add this stuff:

I don’t understand why it sometimes snows in Bend in June, and I also don’t understand why mango chutney holds the key to chicken curry, I just know that it does.  It really does.  Just spoon it on top and open your heart and mind to a taste explosion.

Finally, I have a theory about why Indians don’t eat beef and it’s this:  they don’t have to eat beef, because they have naan. 

I think maybe I’ve expressed my deep and undying love for naan here before, but it bears repeating:  YUM.  I made my own for the first time yesterday using this recipe.  It wasn’t hard to make, but I have to admit that the stuff I buy at Trader Joe’s is better.  It’s pillowy and authentic in a way that mine was not.  But, mine was still delicious and I will definitely make it again in my oven on a pizza stone instead of on the grill.

Even though this is all definitely Americanized, I love it when my children experiencing at least a taste of other cultures.  What’s your favorite comfort food?

Comments
  1. Our fam loves Indian too! We like the Butter Chicken paste you can just mix with water, and of course Naan! We can’t make the dishes too spicy quite yet for the kids, but we put carrots, greenbeans, and cauliflower in our sauces along with the chicken. YUMMO!

  2. Love the Naan bread at Trader Joes, just moved here and used it last night to make pizzas with. Added favorite red sauce (speghetti or a paste), mozzerella, spinach, and tomatoes and topped it off with a little more cheese. Super easy and kids love it!

Leave a Reply

