Go Fourth and Eat

Posted: July 1, 2010 in Uncategorized

So, I need to know:  am I still a legitimate American if I don’t bbq something on the 4th of July?   Be honest, I can take it.

The thing is, while I love grilled food, I secretly think it’s more work.  Especially things like burgers which require sliced, diced and prepared accoutrement in order for them to be holiday-worthy.  Since I have a houseful this year, I don’t want to be doing a bunch of stuff at the last minute so I decided to make this instead.  Baked ziti.  I’ve tried a lot of recipes for Ziti and this is by far my favorite.  It’s cheesy glory and makes enough to feed a whole entire army of proud Yankees.  And it can be made ahead and then baked an hour or so before serving.  Throw in a salad and bread and it’s a party!

So Ziti is my plan.  And these cupcakes by Giada which remind me of trifle but not so “pile -o-dessert”ish.  Speaking of which, I’m totally on a cupcake kick and I probably will need some sort of intervention soon.

Loving America, Jesus, family and food,

Bo

Comments
  1. helenw13 says:

    Hi Bo,

    I always hear Ina Garten say…keep it simple when entertaining…make two things and buy the rest…and I would add make sure what you make is tried and true…because no one likes having stress about how something will turn out.

    The best part of having a big group of family is enjoying them and not worrying about food prep.

    So sounds like Ziti will generate just the right kind of fireworks!

    Happy celebrating!

  2. Jenn Hoff says:

    1. Yankee doodle stuck a feather in his hat and called it macaroni. That translates to: Ziti for Yankees on America’s holiday is totally appropriate…as long as there are feathers and hats involved somewhere in the preparations.
    2. I’m making sushi. ??

  3. bolovesjoe says:

    Helen – I love your advice via Ina!

    Jen:
    1. Brilliant! I feel totally justified as well as proud to be an American where at least I know Ziti! 🙂

    2. I will now go on with my day, obsessing over sushi until I finally go buy some because I sure have never learned to tackle that stuff myself! I’ve invited Chef Morimoto many times to come make it for my family. Still waiting for a response.

  4. Aïda says:

    Ziti! Yummy, yummy! What a great idea!!!

    I am sure everyone will enjoy your gastronomical choice!

    It may even become a July 4th tradition! 🙂

    As I always say, “You’re the BEST!”

    From one Ziti lover to another!

    ENJOY!!

Leave a Reply

