What I Know

Posted: June 4, 2010 in Uncategorized

The Facts:

  • In spite of living in Oregon’s high desert, it will not quit raining.
  • In spite of working very hard, some things that we have been praying for have not yet fallen into place.
  • In spite of being very young and healthy, my friend still died.

On drizzly days and in drizzly seasons of life, I am reminded of the story of the house built on the rock.  The house that didn’t sway or break beneath the force of the waves and the wind.  The rock for my house is an embedded awareness of my core values….they are the beliefs that keep life from imploding.  They are the  foundation upon which everything else is built.

While there are many experiences and mindsets woven into the fabric of my belief system, there are three that stand above all the rest.  These three make up The Holy Trifecta that holds the weight of my life and destiny.  And they are:

  1. He is.
  2. He can.
  3. He cares.

None of these can function effectively without the others.  I can believe He  exists, but still position Him far outside the reach of humanity.  I can believe that He is able to meet my needs or carry the weight of my dreams without believing that He cares enough to do so.  But when I truly believe deep down in the soil of my soul that these three things are resting beneath every move that I make, I will not be shaken.  Everything else may will shake.   I will not be moved.

What’s at the core of what you believe?

Steady as she goes,

Bo

Comments
  1. Jenn Hoff says:

    What’s at the core of what you believe?

    He’s Kind.

    And Oh MY! How the core beliefs get tested, huh?
    Thanks for this. I really needed it today.
    xo

    ps. and btw, I really love the word Trifecta

  2. bolovesjoe says:

    Truth be told, I had “trifecta” on the brain today because I love it as well…so I built a post around it. And if building a whole entire post around one brilliant word is wrong, I don’t wanna be right. Heh. Love you, Mrs. H!

  3. Susie Kay says:

    I read yours, Bo, and said yes, that is what I believe too.

    Then I thought about what I have held in my core value system…

    Among others, I believe:

    He is truth.
    He keeps His Promises.
    He loves me so much He died for me.

    If I stand on His Promises, knowing Him as truth, then no storm is so great as to shake my foundation.

    So, I stand on His Promises steadfastly.

  4. Jenna Javens says:

    So these three little treasures to build a faith-life on just “happen” to be part of the sermon I have of yours that I have memorized. They also just “happened” to be written down on a piece of paper about 6 months that just “happened” to fall off my book shelf yesterday. I put it up at my desk in my room as I was definitely needing a reminder. I love that we are again on the same page. The HS is so good at making me feel connected to wonderful people like you. Love you, love truth, love when you share truth. It breathes life. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

