Your Mom Wears a Dress

Posted: May 29, 2010 in Uncategorized

I am a child of the 60’s which means that my mom often wore a dress.  A “day dress” I think they were called and while I didn’t think much of it at the time, how I wish I had a few of hers around now.  Not that I could fit into my mother’s size 2 day dresses.  Not that I even could have then…but I could hang it in my closet and remember chicken stew and Avon’s Roses, Roses perfume and being loved and not worrying about much of anything at all.

Oh, the power of a day dress.

I ran into the design work of Lesley Evers recently and it reminds of all things mom couture – but updated.

It’s June Cleaver and Betty Crocker and Lucille Ball, all rolled up in a  2010 package!

Family reunion photos circa 1969 are swimming through my brain right now.  Nobody’s dress was this cute or current, but the vibe is so there.

Oh, dear.  I think the word ‘winsome’ works well here.  This is the perfect dress for going from carpool to canasta in one perfectly-coiffed afternoon.  And look at this little number:

Doesn’t it make you want to whip up some meatloaf and mashed potatoes and iron your sheets and stuff?  Here is my favorite thing of all:

Love, love, love it!  And I love the era of women who enjoyed looking like women.  Even in the middle of the day.  How about you?  What do you remember about the fashion sense of your mom and your youth?

Voraciously Vintage,

Bo

Comments
  1. Susie Kay says:

    When will we be seeing these winsome numbers show up on a Sunday soon?

  2. bolovesjoe says:

    Oh, Susie, you just never know! 🙂 Bend in the summer time seems perfectly suited to a winsome frock, don’t you think?

  3. joy says:

    I am seriously considering wearing the same thing for a year and this post is messing with that goal. Hummm…

  4. Lesley Evers says:

    I just found your post. I love what you wrote. You really summed up everything I am trying to do. Thank you so much! Enjoying your blog and will follow.

  5. Donna says:

    What a very nice, fun, and whimsical post on the Lesley Evers line. The entire LE team loves it! Currently, we are not in any store locations in Bend, where did you here about us?

  6. bolovesjoe says:

    Hi Evers team – glad you stopped by. I found you on What I Wore and I just love your work. I appreciate designers who can create things that let us live our moment on the timeline while still keeping us connected to the beauty of the past. Thanks for that!

Leave a Reply

