Maximum Security

Posted: May 26, 2010 in Uncategorized

Something fun happened yesterday.  Fun and important and maybe even life changing. Bear with me because it might seem a little woo-woo.

Here’s the picture:

I had a great day at work (my first real day out of the house since the yucky flu invasion) and a fun talk with my amazing mom  on the phone on the way home.   Then I enjoyed a lovely mocha as I waited at Costco for my pizza (no cooking!) while looking forward to a night with my loves at home.  Into all that fell this…feeling.  It was a feeling that can only be described as rightness.  Things were just right.  And so good.  Like the combination of warm sun and cool breeze, all the lovely in my life had collided in one moment and it was just beautiful.  At that moment I could only think of  one thing I wished was better and so for a minute I imagined what my life would look like if that one thing was fixed.  I actually had butterflies in my stomach as I pictured the world my wishing had created and then – out of nowhere – flew a flaming arrow of fear.  “But you could get sick….or your kids could get sick…or someone could die…” and the list of possibilities rolled in front of my imagination like the credits at the end of a scary movie.  It seems that no matter how many things work out in life, there’s always a new fear waiting to take the place of the old one. I sat on my bench at Costco thinking, “Wow, can we ever really be truly secure?”

Into that hurricane of fanciful and fearful came the wonderful voice of a perfect and generous God:

“There will never be a day in your life that is more – or less – secure than this one,  because I do not change and I do not let go.  If the other shoe drops, I’ll catch it…and I’ll catch you.”

Oh, so brilliant.  So loving.  And exactly what I needed to hear.

Today when I got to my office I printed that little Holy Spirit sentence out in pretty orange font (clearly, orange is the font of the Holy Spirit!) and taped it to my computer monitor.  The day was not as good as yesterday…but it was definitely as secure.  Tomorrow will be as well.  And Friday.  And all the days I’m on this planet after that day.  Because He does not change and He does not let go.

Smiling,

Bo

Comments
  1. Stephenie says:

    I know you thought this one was for you, but I’m pretty sure that little gem-of-a-promise has my name written all over it today. I’m feeling real generous so I’ll go ahead and share it with you.

    — Steph

  2. ci says:

    Oh my…I needed to reminded of this truth AGAIN. Thanks!

  3. Heather Hiatt Sutter says:

    Bo, thanks SO much for sharing that. I can identify totally with what you said – on both accounts. There are moments in my life when i’m with my husband and kids where it is just exactly “right” … it makes a warm happy feeling inside.

    And then almost immediately come the fearful thoughts. Seriously, i deal with fearful thoughts of something happening to me or my kids or my husband. And that fear shuts out the right-ness of the happy moment.

    But God. =)

    Thanks again for sharing. It’s wonderful to rejoice in other people’s “right” moments of happy sunshine. And it also helps to know that other people are walking through the other part too – victoriously!

    You help and inspire me so much – on your blog and at our Ladies Conference. And i praise God for you!!

  4. Carol Neciuk says:

    I shall print that wonderful sign up for myself (only in yellow to avoid being a shameless copy-cat) 🙂

    I love how God corrects our thoughts… nothing is hidden from him!!!

  5. helenw13 says:

    Last week I heard a Ron Mehl teaching surrounding Proverbs 3: 5,6…it reminded me of what you shared…because he said that when we trust the Lord we lean so far over towards Him that if we were to fall, it would be impossible for Him not to catch us.

    Don’t you love that visual? It continues to shape my days because He has got me covered in each and every direction…very secure indeed!

  6. Nita says:

    EXCELLENT!! Like healing balm for my soul…ahhhhh…..
    Thanks Bo!

  7. Lana says:

    Oh, I am so glad I wandered this way. I have to do it more often, but God knew I needed this now.
    The shoe that dropped for me recently is more like the heaviest Doc Martin imaginable. I take comfort in the reminder that He never lets go — and from your “house on the rock” encouragement.
    Thank you!
    Keep writing!

  8. […] on the bridge that I wouldn’t have found in a more secure, sturdy place: 1. I’ve always feared the other shoe dropping in my life and wondered if He would still be there for me and enough for me […]

Leave a Reply

