Truly, Madly, Deeply

Posted: May 7, 2010 in Uncategorized

A friend recently referred to me as a theology wonk (wonk =a person who studies a subject or issue in an excessively assiduous and thorough manner) and I realized I’m a wierdy because it made me feel all happy and tingly inside.  I know theology – the study of God – isn’t a popular subject right now, in or out of the church.

And yet, I love it.

Though I live in the philosophical stew of a postmodern generation, I still believe that truth can be found and God can be known.  I believe that there is beauty in the seeking and that while the great bulk of His person and nature will remain locked behind the mystery of eternity, there is still so much to be found and known and built upon right here and right now.  For me, the search fuels my life and fills me with joy.  Will I get some things wrong?  Absolutely.  But I don’t want to let the fear of being wrong – or the abuses that have been committed in the name of knowing God – to scare me away from a breathless pursuit of His character.  I love Him.  I want to know Him.

Loving the chase,

Bo

Comments
  1. Tracy says:

    Is what I know about God true? The thing to contemplate this weekend….thanks Bo!

  2. I really appreciate this post. And I love Joshua Harris! This book looks fantastic…a must read!

Leave a Reply

