Coming and Going

Posted: April 20, 2010 in Uncategorized

I’m back from a fun-filled, whirlwind trip to Lincoln, Nebraska where I was blessed to speak at the ladies conference for Lincoln City Church and at the church on Sunday morning.  What a loving, fun, open, smart group of women I found there!  They were incredibly gracious to me and I can’t tell you what a joy it is to spend a weekend laughing and crying together over the great mercy of Jesus in our lives.  So, so blessed is what I am.

On my way home, my flights lined up in the strangest way and for our purposes here today, strange equals bad.  Had my first flight been just thirty minutes earlier, I would have hit the first connections and gotten home six hours sooner.  As hard as I tried, however, I could not convince the United pilot in Omaha to bump the flight up.   So, I spent a lot of time in airports and here’s what I did:

1)  Replayed scenes from the movie The Terminal in my head.

Remember that movie?  It’s possible that I made this same face a couple of times as I looked at the departure boards and wondered:  if I take my shoes off and run like the wind, could I make it to gate B75 and catch that connection even though the boarding light is flashing right now?  A phone call to my husband – a renowned world traveler – reminded me that in this era of increased security, you are not allowed to outrun your checked baggage.  So, I kept my shoes on and enjoyed my stay in concourse B.

Speaking of increased security:  I have a new and passionate dislike for Osama Bin Laden.  He cost me a lot of time at  security AND a very expensive can of mousse.

2)  Also, I read this book:

I read it because of my Mennonite root system and found it to be very, very funny.  However, the subject and language is raw and the pervasive philosophy throughout is “smart people don’t buy religion” so read at your own risk.

3)  I saw this girl:

Bless my little Tori’s heart.  She raced to the airport in the one hour she had available between school and work, picked me up and whisked me out of the airport prison for a lovely little lunch at Red Robin where a server named Matt will be forever etched in our hearts for the brazen-yet-awkward way he sat down at our table to take our order.  That was a long sentence to describe a short lunch.  Thank you, Victoria, for rescuing your mama from The Terminal!

4)  I thought.  A lot.  About a lot of things, but ministry weekends always make me think mostly about what I want to be when I grow up.  In the current season we’re in as a family, it’s tough for me to travel away from home.  But when I do, I remember why I do.  Because I love it.  I love speaking with women.  I love seeing new groups of people and witnessing God’s faithfulness in their lives.  I love praying with people I have never met and may never see again this side of eternity.  I love it.  And it’s hard.  But it’s worth it.

So this morning, I’ve woken up to discover that Josiah is sick and I am pretending not to be, in spite of all evidence to the contrary.  We’re both kind of pathetic looking and are going to hunker down with Nickelodeon and The History of Christianity respectively.  In spite of sickness or fatigue or anything else I may be feeling today, I am so glad that I went and so glad to be home.

Behold: The God who guards our going out and our coming in.  Psalm 121:8

Comments
  1. Susan from Nebraska says:

    We were all so blessed to have you come and speak to us and share your life so ours can change!! (Isn’t that what Jesus did too?) I have been telling everyone how good you are and how much they will like you and I am so glad I was right!!! Now they can tell others and next year we will have a packed out church. Thank your whole family for letting you come without them.
    Sorry you feel unwell…I kind of felt that way too and then I slept 10 hours last night and i feel great!!!
    Love you so much…..sister Bo.

  2. Arlene Hiatt says:

    The Word you shared continues to rumble around in my spirit and will bring change to my soul. The Word of God this weekend fed me . . . encouraged me . . . challenged me . . . convicted me! I will never be the same . . . we will never be the same! Thank you sooooo much for coming to Lincoln City Church.

    God’s richest blessings to you and your family!

    Love ya,
    Arlene

  3. Aïda says:

    Considering you last paragraph, shall I remind you?

    You are the BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Heather Hiatt Sutter says:

    Thank you SO MUCH, Bo, for coming to Lincoln and giving of your time, energy, resources … of yourself! What you said was just what i needed to hear, word-for-word in a few places =)

    Thank you for giving up your weekend, too. Being away from your family and a day of rest and all that brings — what a sacrifice that i pray God blesses you 100 fold for!

  5. Portland College Daughter says:

    Thanks for letting me rescue you! I love even the one hours here and there.:) And, ya, Matt…huh. “Brazen-yet-awkward” is exactly right. I think he thought it would work then he sat down and we didn’t care and then he was stuck there. Lastly, I really love the pictures you chose…and the idea that you made the same face at the departure boards as he did when he discovered his country was forcibly taken over.:)

    Glad you survived your admittedly LONG trip back!
    Love,
    Portland College Daughter

  6. bolovesjoe says:

    Thanks, wonderful Lincoln ladies for your encouraging words. It was fantastic being with you!

    And yep, Tor…one person’s hostile takeover is another person’s missed connection. 🙂

Leave a Reply

