Rich & Poor

Posted: April 15, 2010 in Uncategorized

Peter said, “I don’t have a nickel to my name, but what I do have, I give you:  In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, walk!”  Acts 3:6

I am learning that God uses physical or emotional lack in my life as a catalyst to get me digging for spiritual treasure.  Peter says, “I don’t have any cash.”  Many people would say the same today.  They would shake their head sadly at the crippled guy and maybe even resent him a little for reminding them of them of their empty pockets.  Peter understands, however, that just because he’s currently living in poverty it doesn’t mean that poverty has to live inside of him. Here’s what I’m learning from this little story today:

  • Just because our economy is weak doesn’t mean I am weak.
  • Just because I have nothing big to give materially, does not mean I have nothing to give.
  • Seasons of lack are so good for us in the church if they cause us to access the storehouse of His grace and goodness, and stop throwing physical stop gaps at eternal issues.

Behold:  Out of His riches, He makes us rich, in all the ways that matter most.

Leave a Reply

