March 22: Courage

Posted: March 22, 2010 in Uncategorized

Today, Steve left for Florida.  This is a shorter trip, which is thrilling to my Steve-loving little heart, but it’s always hard for me to face time without him.  Nights are especially difficult for me, when noises stir imagination and fear can creep in and steal peace.  But even beyond the safety issues of being without a big strong man, I fear a lot of things when he’s gone.  Did I get the bills all paid?  Will I remember to put the garbage out?  What if something goes wrong with a car or a kid?  If I let it, Fear is happy to come on in, set up shop and have a party for its friends – Anger and Frustration.

So, this morning when Steve left I found myself laying in bed, rolling all the possibilities over in my mind again.  I was reviewing all the ‘what if’s’ in great detail, when I clearly heard the Holy Spirit say, “Fear not.”  And while the words were  comforting, the voice was pretty firm.  I listened and nodded and…went right back to fraidy-cat thinking.  Again, the voice – so clear:  Fear Not, Bo Stern.  I’m not kidding – even my last name!

Later, in Joshua 14, I ran into this interesting repetition of phrases:

Joshua 14:8 My brothers who went with me caused the people’s hearts to melt with fear, but I remained loyal to the Lord my God.

:9  “…because you remained loyal to the Lord my God.”

:14 “…because he remained loyal to the Lord, the God of Israel
Some may look at fear as just human nature, but Caleb saw fear as disloyalty to the word and the promises of God.  When the other spies gave into fear, they influenced the people to abandon obedience and in so doing, they became traitors, guilty of treason.  Their fear cost the people forty years and for many of them, their only shot at stepping into the promised land.

I wonder how many times my fear has caused my family’s heart to melt.  I wonder how much ground I’ve given up because I was afraid to face a phone call or a conversation or a new adventure.

For the rest of my life on this planet, I want to be a woman who is loyally in love with God and bravely committed to obedience.  For the rest of my life…but I’m going to start with just this week.
I’ll let you know how it goes.

Craving Courage,

Bo

Comments
  1. Ci says:

    So good. So true. So hard to walk out at times. Thanks for the reminder and the perspecitve of loyalty. I’ve never seen it that way and it’s powerful.

  2. Tara Jean says:

    Craving Courage-I am too.
    The star spangled banner had a verse in it…”Then conquer we must, when our cause it is just, And this be our motto: “In God is our trust!” I sometimes wish life didn’t take so much-but at least God provides as much as I need for for the day. Love you
    t

Leave a Reply

