March 19: Built

Posted: March 19, 2010 in Uncategorized

Excuse me, have you seen my week?  It seems to have gotten away from me.

My crazy Church History class, crazy Irish relatives and their culinary needs (please do yourself a favor and cook up a pot o’ this delicious stew forthwith!)  and then a crazy happy houseful of company, and now this little blog o’ mine is staring me in the face like an overdue library book.  I’m sorry, little blog.  I love you, but I wish you did dishes.

The bad news is that I really don’t have much time to write today either because I have to go…live.  Seriously, I just feel this beautiful spring day pulling me away from my computer with quite a forceful insistence.  Let me just share this one big behold from Psalm 89 that honestly, shot little butterflies all through my soul when I read it:

For I will declare, “Faithful love is built up forever; You establish Your faithfulness in the heavens.”  Psalm 89:2

Can I tell you how much I love that line, “Faithful love is built up…”?  I love it dearly and truly.  His love isn’t flimsy, flighty or frail.  It’s built up.  Layer on layer, word on word, truth on truth, wonderful work by wonderful work.  He has been building His sturdy love in my life not just for 44 years – but for generations.  I see it in my parents, my grandparents…over a century of rock solid love.

On a brilliant day like this one, it’s almost too much to take in.

Behold: My life is held by a God who is not new at this love thing – He is experienced and skilled at building His faithfulness into my world.

Comments
  1. Carol Neciuk says:

    Thank-you for making time in your busy life for your blog!!! I am always thrilled when I see a new one, and pray for you on the days you don’t post (possibly that you wont be too busy tomorrow) 🙂 I love you and your blog!!

Leave a Reply

