March 15: Monday, Monday

Posted: March 15, 2010 in Uncategorized

Ah, Monday.  I really like Mondays because they have become the day that I study (like MAD) for the Church History class I teach on…Tuesday.  Yeah, it turns out that I am exactly the same kind of teacher as I was a student:  driven-by-pressure.

Not gonna lie, though, it’s hard searching out the juicy juice of twenty centuries of history and then trying to make it fun and interesting and absorb-able for young adults who are frankly more concerned with their future than the Church’s past.  Now, that mindset is totally understandable given their age and stage of life, but  – since the past contextualizes the present – it’s not complete.  So, if you really wanted to, you could say that I complete them.

That makes me feel extra special valuable as I study the Byzantine Empire and the Goths and Visigoths and such. Since St. Patrick’s Day is this week, I decided to take my class on a field trip to St. Patrick’s Cathedral in Dublin. 

Then I decided to show them this picture instead.

Incidentally, this week as you don your green glittery glasses and your luck-o-the-Irish t-shirt, take a look at the very cool and very inspirational life of St. Patrick himself (who wasn’t Irish, by the way).   Much of what is written about him now is exaggerated or even outlandish, but what is known of him from his writing is both interesting and important enough to make him a hero of the faith.   I’m not sure he’d be real excited about what his holiday has become, but he’s in good company with Jesus and the Easter Bunny.

Behold: History.  So beautiful to find our place in the story.

Leave a Reply

