March 13: Becoming

Posted: March 13, 2010 in Uncategorized

For those He foreknew, He predestined to be conformed to the image of His dear Son.  -Romans 8:29

When I was in Junior High, I remember the teachers’ mantra was “be yourself.”

Thirty years later, I’m still working on becoming fully me, yet fully His.  It seems there are a million available diversions.  Inside the walls of just one conversation, I can so easily take a rabbit trail off into pretense, hoping that who I am for just that second more closely resembles the me that those around me want to see.  Am I funny enough or intelligent enough or – and I’m aware that this is the ultimate Pretentious Ick – humble enough?   Turns out, the journey  toward authenticity is not one big, bloody crucifixion of the counterfeit, but many little deaths.  Every day, it’s the willingness to sacrifice anything false I might use to impress others  at the expense of the genuine.

However, I’m also finding that there really is no special magic in being authentically me, if it doesn’t also look like Him.   How much hurt has been caused while waving the That’s Just the Way I Am flag?  If my way is hurting people, it needs to change.  If my way is hurting myself, it needs to stinkin change….and change is death.  And resurrection.  And brand new life.


Behold: The God who loves me too much to let me stay stuck inside the stuff of Bo.  Every day, He nudges  me out into the adventure of becoming more and more like the Son of His love.

Comments
  1. Jamie Schulz says:

    I LOVE this!

  2. Paul Turk says:

    Tonight as the dog and I went for our walk I meditated (if ever so briefly) on the thought of ‘accepted in the [B]eloved’ and what that means to me today in my faith-journey.

    I know this, broken and flawed, depraved and decayed, I am (somehow marvelously, miraculously, and mysteriously) accepted by God in Christ and though I have the promise of new life in Him, I still wallow in the present life of me with all of my nastiness.

    But despite all of the aforementioned nastiness, the truth is I have peace with God and His acceptance evidenced in the never-ceasing nudges toward conformity with Jesus.

    I’ll lay my head on the pillow tonight and sigh over my shortcomings but rejoice over my acceptance…

  3. Sue Kay says:

    Thanks, Bo. This is so timely for me – but then you usually are.

    The Lord has had me on a path of becoming the me that He meant for me to be. And, again, you are right – many little deaths – rise again – learn some more, die again and so on.

    I can’t say it has always been fun, but it sure is rewarding. The peace I feel – was only a dream 2 years ago. The Lord is so capable of making what is now become old and the new is phenomenal.

    Thank you, Bo, for who you are right now – growing together.

  4. Heather Hiatt Sutter says:

    This is a totally awesome, hit-it-on-the-nose post!! especially this part where you said:

    “Inside the walls of just one conversation, I can so easily take a rabbit trail off into pretense, hoping that who I am for just that second more closely resembles the me that those around me want to see.”

    I needed to hear this! Somehow you articulated the very things that flit through my soul where no one can see!

Leave a Reply

