March 3: Expectations

Posted: March 3, 2010 in Uncategorized

Today, I am longing for spring.  I need it.  I crave it.  I feel a little bit desperate, in fact.

So, since it looks nothing like spring here in Bend and everything like a typical day on the Oregon coast, I decided to sit in front of my heater and feast my eyes on spring.

I bing’d it.  I really like bing, by the way…not the Bing in White Christmas, who is simply no match for Danny Kaye, but bing the search engine.  That’s the bing for me.  The bing for spring.  Heh.  (Seriously, done now).

This is the kind of image I was expecting for my favorite season:

Once I went to Washington D.C. in the spring when these guys were in bloom and it was one of the most wonderful experiences in my life.  I love cherry blossoms in the spring.

But if I can’t have cherry blossoms, I will settle for something along the lines of this:

Buckle up, butter cup!  Oops…maybe those are tulips?  I’m not sure, but I know they’re lovely and I know I”m jealous of whoever those people are, walking on that flower-lined pathway.

These are beautiful images of spring; images that I was expecting.

Wanna know what I wasn’t expecting?

I wasn’t expecting this guy:

Ah, spring.  So alive with all the beauty of Easter and the scents of WD40.  For whatever reason, it made me laugh really hard.  And laughing really hard is almost as fun as experiencing a sunny day.

Almost.

Behold: Things are not always as you expect.  But sometimes they’re funnier.

Comments
  1. Ci says:

    Ah yes…and funny is such a great thing! All that pent up seriousness, tension, stress, and winter give way to the release of unmuzzled laughter. What a gift! Thanks for sharing your spring. 🙂

  2. Heather Hiatt Sutter says:

    That’s a great post! Thanks for sharing it! You put a spring in my step =)

Leave a Reply

