February 24: Workin’ for a Livin’

Posted: February 24, 2010 in Uncategorized

I almost hate to write this because I know how many people aren’t currently in this same position.  In fact, I haven’t always been in this position.  Tons of people hate their jobs.  Even more people are bored with their jobs.  Still more see their jobs only as a means to a paycheck; a way to pay for their time off.  Having been in every one of those scenarios, I am now reluctantly thrilled to say:  I love my job.  Love it.  Love going to work in the morning.  Love Mondays.  Just love it.  And it’s funny, because I’ve been working at this church for 8 years, but I haven’t always loved what I do there.  That’s not an indictment on my pastor or anyone else – it’s just how life is sometimes.  But, right now, I’m so thankful to be excited to show up at work and fulfilled when I leave.   Here are some reasons why:

  • In a big church, where it’s super easy to get lost in the crowd, I get to help people find a place where they can find friendship, support and ways to grow.
  • In a world where the next generation is being lost, I get to invest real time in real lives.   Consequently, I also get to go to weddings where I see that the miraculous love of Jesus has brought the right people together for the right reasons.  It’s really just a great thing.
  • I get to teach courses I LOVE like Communications and Church History and Women’s Issues.  Oh, I love to teach the stuff I love to teach…and I would hate teaching things I don’t love so I’m thankful that Jay – our CLC Director – let’s me stick with the stuff that makes me happy to study and happy come to work.
  • I recently upgraded to an office with a window that looks out to….outside.  While I’ll miss my primo view into the hall, I’m so happy with my new digs!
  • My co-workers are some of the best and hardest-working people in the world.  From the front desk to the maintenance office, these  people care about the kingdom in ways that astound and challenge me to do more, be more, love more.

It’s taken 25 years of working for a living to find the thing I love to do…and it’s not at all the thing I expected I would love to do.  So, if you’re still trying to figure out what you want to be when you grow up, take heart.  You’ll get there.  You’ll find it.   Just don’t get stuck.  Don’t trade adventure and fulfillment for security and a 401K.  Find what you love and do it with all your heart and you’ll find yourself excited to wake up on Monday mornings.

Behold: my job.  I am humbled and grateful.

Comments
  1. helenw13 says:

    Not fifteen minutes before I laid on this post…I was thinking about how painful it has been to serve or work in areas that were not my giftings…and what a rich delight when our gifts collide with our place of work…so glad that the Lord has carved out the Bo place…where His glory can radiate from you!

  2. Tracy says:

    I love your job too! It’s through you loving your job so much, that you are able to share the wealth:) Thank you dear friend! I love that you love your job, it shows and I’m thankful that you share it with us!

  3. Stephenie says:

    I like your job, three!

    Mainly because your job effects my job, and my job would lack all things humor, and fun, and Groupon without your hard work.
    🙂

  4. Portland College Daughter says:

    Trade Adventure? Trade Fulfillment? Not a chance. Narrowing down loves of adventure and fulfillment to a specific vocation? A daunting task.
    Thanks for the encouragement from the other side!

    Searching College Daughter.

Leave a Reply

