February 20: Green

Posted: February 20, 2010 in Uncategorized

After reading Psalm 23 maybe 100 times in my life, and hearing it read at funerals even more than that, today I read it for the first time.

Few literary passages say so much with so few words.  In only six verses, David weaves together a picture of a life that can only be described as idyllic.  As I read, I kept asking myself, “Do I really believe this?  Do I really live like this?”  One verse that especially stood out was this one:

“He lets me lie down in green pastures…”

Here’s my journal on it:

Rest. What a beautiful word. The older I get, the more I embrace it. The more I understand the restorative powers of rest and its ability to free up space in my soul to create and dream.  Of all the scriptures in the Word, this is probably the one that evokes the deepest feelings.  I’m realizing that He is constantly leading me to places where I can retreat and restore, but it’s easy to miss the chance to really absorb it and take it in.  In fact, if I’m not paying attention I can miss entirely a chance to be renewed because I’m wishing for a Big Vacation.

For me, green pastures look like:

  • buttered toast on the first snow day
  • fresh cotton sheets
  • a crackling fire on a cold Bend day
  • breakfast on a sunny patio
  • sleeping next to Steve
  • potato soup
  • funnel cakes at the fair with my kids
  • sunset at the Spedick’s house in Pacific City
  • dinner at the Pelican Pub
  • sleeping in on my day off of work
  • warm summer evenings on my deck
  • a good book on a rainy afternoon
  • my prayer room in the mornings
  • the first cup of coffee.

These are the green pastures of my life and writing them down reminds me that He does so often lead me there. He lets me lie down. This isn’t a forced march to my destiny; it’s a beautiful journey with many places to stop and sit and enjoy His company.

Behold: Green pastures. Where are yours?

Comments
  1. Susan from Nebraska says:

    The screech of pleasure from my grandkids when I walk in the door.
    My husband’s “I’m home, hun.”
    My dad’s “You know we love you don’t you???” every time I just show up at their house!!
    The beautiful shineshine in Nebraska….that we have had so little of this winter.
    That still small voice from my Lord when He tell’s me a ‘secret’.
    Oatmeal and coffee in the morning.
    The wind in my hair when I ride my bike.

    Thanks, Bo, for jogging my memory….I take these things forgranted but you made me think about them!

    Love you,
    Your “other” sister

  2. Tracy says:

    My children’s smiles and the “I love you Mom”

  3. Portland College Daughter says:

    Good books.
    Barnes and Noble(big enough to have a lot to see, smaller than the overwhelming Powells)
    Sunshine(I didn’t realize how much until I moved to Portland.)
    Your house(I didn’t realize how much until I moved to Portland.):)
    Studying the Old Testament
    Days when I don’t work or volunteer. (They’re rare entities, but playful and gay as a nymph when they do decide to come by.)
    Worshiping alone and singing whatever I want.

    Rest is dear, and I dare say lacking, to me.
    Diligently seeking Rest,
    College Daughter

Leave a Reply

