February 17. Back again.

Posted: February 17, 2010 in Uncategorized

Oh goodness, where has the time gone?  Remember when I stressed over missing a post?  Yeah, those were the good ol’ days.

My husband came home from Orlando and took me to The Benson in Portland for our 25th anniversary.  The word “wonderful” is tiny, inadequate…anemic…to describe how delightful our time was together.  Oh, how I love that guy!  Oh, how I love The Benson.  I’m going to show you a picture.  But first a disclaimer:

Tess took it.

She was also in Portland to spend time with her sister, and while Tess is great photographer, she just doesn’t see the world the way the rest of us normal folks see it.  Therefore, when I say, “take a shot of our awesome 12th-floor hotel room for my blog, this is where we land:

Sorta hard to see the room?  Don’t worry – I totally understand!  That’s why we had her take another one:

And another, completely different perspective:

In case these photos are too “big-picture” for you and you’re wondering what the details of The Benson really look like, I’ve gotcha covered:

I tell you, that window latch will be something that lives on in my memory for years and years to come.

Seriously, though, I ADORE photos by the brilliant and beautiful red-head that Jesus gave to us.  Here’s Portland through her lens:

(I LOVE this one because it reminds me of the hours that Steve and I spent under a big umbrella, walking from store to french bistro to store.  It also reminds me of the walk that Tess and I took around the block without an umbrella so she could get a few shots.  Truly, so much fun!)

Finally…we face head-on the Stern woman fear of public restrooms.  Especially public restrooms in a city larger than Bend.

Behold, a perfect weekend in a perfect city and the not-quite-but-almost-perfect family to spend it with.  I am abundantly, exceedingly blessed.

Comments
  1. Katie says:

    The word anemic could also apply to the way I feel when you don’t blog. I get a little crazy – true test of a brilliant writer right there. Glad to have you back! And glad you had such a wonderful time!

  2. sarah says:

    Mmmm… nice pics! Makes me want to visit Portland! Can I order some sun when I do so?

  3. Holly says:

    Nice room! 😉

Leave a Reply

