February 6: Big Talkers

Posted: February 6, 2010 in Uncategorized

Well, I really love (and am truly amazed) that I get the chance to do what I do.  Though I didn’t aspire to this vocation, I love being a communicator of the Word and of truth.  It’s a joy to my little heart.

Generally, I feel pretty confident in my calling…but the people I’m going to mention now are those to whom I listen   and shake my head and think, “Why did I ever think I had something to say?”  They’re just that good.  This is a tough job, but they make it look easy and they are heroes of mine.

3 Speaking/Teaching Heroes

1. Andy Stanley. Master of the one-point message.  Brilliant in creating intersections between the Word of God and actual life.  Able to weave together a message that sticks…I find myself thinking about his sermons for weeks and – sadly – re-preaching them to innocent people at lunch and stuff.  If you’ve never heard Andy Stanley speak, this is a great place to start.

________________________________________________________________

2.  Beth Moore. She is truly an amazing, gifted and anointed teacher of the Word of God, but it’s more than that.  I think it’s tricky for women…many speak wonderfully and know the Word deeply, but there’s an “accessibility” factor that’s missing.  Something about listening to Beth Moore makes me feel not just “taught”, but understood, and not just understood, but loved.  And I’m telling you – that’s quite a gift.

______________________________________________________________________

3.  Lanny Hubbard. Maybe most people who read my blog won’t know Lanny or his teaching, but oh, how I wish everyone could!  Lanny has been a professor of theology at Portland Bible College since 1978.  His knowledge of the Word and ability to make it come alive is unmatched by…well, by maybe anyone.   It’s not that I listened to Lanny in college and decided I wanted to be a teacher.  It’s that I listened to him and decided that I wanted to be a student of the Word regardless of anything else I might do in life.  He caused me to want to search and uncover and dig for truth and I think that this has had a greater impact on the way that I teach than any other external influence.  And I’m guessing that for every one Beth Moore or Andy Stanley who speak to the masses, there are 10 or 20 or 200 Lanny Hubbards, who impact a room full of students, year after year,  and make them think that just maybe…the Word of God can be known by everyone.

Behold: Men and women who learn and teach and help the rest of us fall more deeply in love with the Source of all Truth.  I am more grateful than I can say.

And in honor of both Valentine’s Day and fantastic preachers: Here is the greatest sermon I’ve ever heard, preached by Rev. E.V. Hill at his wife’s funeral.  Her name was Baby, he adored her, and he built his message around the scripture “The Lord gives, the Lord takes away, blessed be the name of the Lord.”  I can’t think of a better example of brilliant, anointed communication in the middle of one of life’s most painful moments.  If you love it, the other parts are on You Tube as well and absolutely worth listening to.

Comments
  1. Gail Gumpert says:

    A Good word this morning.. The Lord Gives and takes away.. thank you…It is how we respond only to give Him the glory and make way for our life in eternity..

  2. Katie Scott says:

    Lanny Hubbard is the most amazing teacher I have ever had the privilege of learning from. And I had the exact same response to his teaching – he made me want to know the Word. Love him!!!

Leave a Reply

