February 4: Getting Out

Posted: February 4, 2010 in Uncategorized

Today I wasn’t quite yet feeling awesome, but really needed to get out of the house before I’m forced into some sort of program for TLC addiction. I also have some overdue writing projects, so I packed up my trusty computer (which is definitely feeling the need for one of these) and headed off to Barnes and Noble.  While there, I decided it was time for Part Deux of People Watching.  Here’s some of what I beheld:

  • A couple on their first date.  Hysterical!  They were funny but not funny- haha, more like funny- tense.  Funny- nervous.  And yet, clearly funny into-each-other.  I’d say it was a love connection.
  • Biscotti – no matter how careful one may endeavor to be – will without any doubt end up on the table, floor and between the keys of one’s innocently bystanding  computer.
  • I love Pandora, but there are certain songs that cannot be “thumbs-down’ed” quickly or aggressively enough for my taste. Winter Sun by Lez Zeppelin, I”m looking at you.  I know you think that’s a typo, but it’s not – Lez Zeppelin is apparently a female Led Zeppelin cover band.  Here’s the link to the ear-splitting atrocity song –  feel free to tell me I’m crazy in the comments.
  • It’s weird when someone crawls under the table you’re sitting at to plug in their computer.  I’m sure it’s totally within the bounds of coffee shop protocol…it’s just weird.
  • Oh, how I love when a daddy drops off his sweet and special little girl for tutoring and kisses her before he leaves.  That’s good daddying.

And here’s a freebie from my trip to Costco:

  • When someone stops suddenly in front of me and I accidentally run into her with my cart, I feel really terrible…in fact, I feel like the Bad Guy.  However, when that someone turns around and screams curse words in my face, it takes the sting out of my mistake a bit and I no longer feel like I’m the only one wearing the black hat.  So, thanks for that, lady.  I know you didn’t want to yell at me, you just wanted  to alleviate my burden of guilt.  It was nice of you. (In fairness, however, I also know it hurts like the dickens to get hit with a shopping cart.)

Behold: a world filled with wonder, funny couples, crumbling cookies, crazy music, sweet dads, screaming ladies and good coffee.  I’m blessed to be a part of it all.

Leave a Reply

