February 2: 25

Posted: February 2, 2010 in Uncategorized

Wow.  No matter how forward-thinking I may have been in 1985, there is no way I could have imagined my 25-year anniversary.  And if I had tried to imagine  it, it definitely wouldn’t have looked at all like this one looks.  Steve is in Florida on an unavoidable business trip.  I am sick and taking care of sick kids.  That’s just how it is.

But I’ll tell you this: had I been able to see through a looking glass on that snowy day so long ago and into the facts of this day, I know that I would have grieved for myself.  In my 19-year-old mind, a preview of this day of disease and distance would surely have looked like certain death to my 44-year-old happiness.

I’m so thankful that it’s not.  Turns out, that after 25 years of loving and fighting and soaring and holding on for dear life and letting go of expectations and pride and so many other things I thought I could never let go of, we have become our grownup selves.  I love that our love isn’t dependent on circumstances or check book balances or just the right flowers on Valentine’s Day.  Our relationship can withstand weather.  It didn’t start out this steady, but years of water washing against our will has smoothed and settled and strengthened us into a pretty tight team.

I love Steve Stern more today than I did 25 Groundhog’s Days ago.  I love marriage more.  I love family more.  And I am indeed a well-loved woman.

Behold: Sometimes the glass slipper fits.

Comments
  1. Louise says:

    Happy Anniversary, Steve and Bo!
    You truly are an inspiration to us all.
    Love,
    Louise
    P.S. Be healed! in Jesus’ name! : )

  2. Stephenie says:

    Oh, I love this.

    Dearly, dearly love this!

    — Steph

  3. sarah says:

    So well stated! Hope you had a great anniversary! And that you all are feeling better soon.

  4. Aïda says:

    Have I told you lately? YOU ARE THE BEST!!!!!!!!!

  5. kerifox says:

    i love hearing you say, “sometimes the glass slipper fits”
    I feel like i want to shout that with my marriage to a world that tells you only that it’s so hard, and most don’t make it, and it’s all about giving up your dreams and surviving marriage….
    I want to show the world that sometimes, it fits just right, sometimes being married is WAY WAY better than you even expected it would be. Sometimes, you really can function as a team. Sometimes, even the hard days together are better than the easy days apart.
    Sometimes, the glass slipper fits…

    you encourage me bo.

  6. bolovesjoe says:

    Thanks, all – you’re very kind.

    Keri – go ahead and dance in those slippers, sister!

Leave a Reply

