January 30: Making Peace with Pain

Posted: January 30, 2010 in Uncategorized

So, I survived my DODT .  2 hours and 29 minutes of drilling, poking, pulling, pushing, sanding, filling and “are you okay’ing?”   Such nice people they are to put up with my fear of dentistry – seriously,  they never made me feel one bit bad or silly and that’s worth a lot to me.

When I was done they offered to phone in a prescription for pain meds, but I declined.  I pretended to be really strong and brave but in reality, I knew I already had the perfect medication at home.

BeholdBen & Jerry’s Peach Cobbler Ice Cream, which seems to also involve Willie Nelson somehow.  I have a feeling that my no-solid-food diet is not going to lead to much weight loss.  But I did lose a tooth which contained a hefty amount of wisdom, so maybe it will all balance out.

Also:    Thank you, Dr. Brad Hester, his awesome assistant Susie, and the Bend Family Dentistry team for working with a big baby like me and providing a truly better-than-expected DODT.  You guys are the BEST!

If you live in Central Oregon and need a good dentist that doesn’t make you feel dumb for not liking to go to the dentist, you need to check ’em out.

Comments
  1. That’s my dentist too

  2. Except that I got my fillings in Mexico, because they cost $90 instead of $1500

  3. bolovesjoe says:

    Well, mine weren’t 1500 – but they also weren’t $90 – but I got NOVOCAINE! I think the Ben & Jerry’s costs about the same.

Leave a Reply

