January 29: Dance!

Posted: January 29, 2010 in Uncategorized

First?  BEMOAN!  Today is my DODT (Day of Dental Trauma) in which I will have one wisdom tooth extracted (such an awful word), 1 cavity filled and 1 tooth crowned.  Sigh.  I’m a big ol’ baby when it comes to spending time with the dentist so consider yourself thoroughly and completely bemoaned at.  In other, happier, beholdy-er news:

To paraphrase a beautiful scripture:

“Greater love has no  woman then to lay down her dignity and dance for a cause she believes in.”  2nd Borinthians 2:17

This video – made by the staff of St. Vincent’s in Portland – makes me all kinds of happy:

Behold:  People  committed to the aggressive search for a cure to end an aggressive and wretched disease.   When we push back the forces of sickness, we push back the plans of the evil one.  And that idea makes me wanna dance.

(Thanks, Cathy Turk, for sharing this video!)

Comments
  1. Gail Gumpert says:

    Will be praying for you today.. I am not a big fan of dentists either.. but I always try to look at the big picture.. It could be worse.. like chemo.. So I just lay there and praise the Lord the whole time they work and drill on me.. It does help,which I am sure you are quite aware.. so Just be happy when it is over and look forward to a smoothie or milkshake later this evening.. I feel your pain..

  2. helenw13 says:

    Oh you kept your wisdom teeth so long…

    I will say a prayer for you…I have a filling that I have been putting off as well…ugh.

    Love this video…a good friend of mine was the brain child behind it!

    I am sure you will be beholding the wonders of pharmaceuticals soon…Praise Him!

  3. bolovesjoe says:

    Yep, Gail, that technique helped get me through as well…2 and 1/2 hours later, I’m still standing. 🙂 Love you!

    Oh, Helen, please tell your friend that s/he is MY HERO! Brilliant, just completely brilliant. Especially the janitor. And the lady in the green sweater who throws all the pink gloves up into the air. And the big pink umbrella…I want one of those! It’s all just brilliant. 🙂

  4. Katie Scott says:

    There is a slight possibility that this video made me cry!!!

  5. Cathy Turk says:

    I wanted to be in the video… of course after the fact.
    But i was willing!

    The janitor was definately my favorite…

  6. Sarah says:

    That is a crazy awesome video! Makes me want to WORK THERE! I love people who make their job fun, no matter what the job. Some people have fun jobs and can even make those jobs boring. That’s just silliness. Might as well enjoy this life we are living!

  7. […] 30, 2010 by bolovesjoe So, I survived my DODT .  2 hours and 29 minutes of drilling, poking, pulling, pushing, sanding, filling and “are […]

Leave a Reply

