January 25: Throwback Style

Posted: January 25, 2010 in Uncategorized

Do you remember in December when we were talking about the marvel of the dresses worn by Rosemary Clooney and Vera-Ellen and not-Mitzi Gaynor back in the day of quality Christmas movies?  And we were bemoaning the fact that we can’t wear those dresses today?  Well, I’ve been thinking:  why the heck not?

Now, I’ll concede that you have to be confident:

and it would probably help if you were also

quite intimately in touch

with your

feminine side.

I know the era is over

But please, oh, please

Couldn’t we agree

To launch a new one?

Because I, for one, am ready for a new old dress.

Behold:  vintage dresses from ModCloth.  They make me want to move to 1942.

Also, a question and it applies to male and female readers alike:  How do you feel about women in dresses?  Is it too fancy?  Too silly?  Too wonderful for words?  If you are a woman, do you wear them and if you don’t, what would make you want to?  Wow.  That’s a lot of questions, but that’s okay because I believe in you.  What say ye?

Comments
  1. Tracy says:

    I highly suggest bringing this to Mrs. Mickel and having her implement an outreach/women’s party! I’d buy a dress like this just for the event and I would love it….some chunky little heals and maybe even a shawl! Well, not the shawl or a hat but I’d put curls in my hair and some bobbie pins.

    By the way you’d look great….and I totally forgot to give you a picture I found of a new great outfit for the next time you grace us with your presence on the platform at church! It’s a wonderful mix of edgy and old school. Not at all like the dresses you’ve shown but equally as daring! I’ll put it in your box:)

  2. ci says:

    I LOVE dresses, but own only one, and it’s a sundress for summer. I vote for them to definitely be a mainstay of a female’s wardrobe. They are generally very flattering and more comfortable than multiple pieces. I love each of these you’ve shown, but have no where to wear them.

  3. Jenn Hoff says:

    Yes, oh yes. We can agree. #’s1, 3,4 6,7…especially #4. I’m ridiculous enough to wear that to school and I’m going to go find my sewing machine and a pattern…RIGHT NOW!

  4. bolovesjoe says:

    Yep, 6 is my favorite for fancy and 4 is my favorite for the REST OF MY LIFE! 🙂 Also, I think 4 is exactly what a Kinder teacher oughta wear!

    Tracy- can’t wait to see it! I’m all about edgy and old school!!

    Cheryl – Next family Thanksgiving, we’re wearing June Cleaver dresses and that’s all there is to it!

  5. I LOVE this!!! This is my favorite era! Mod Cloth is an absolutely wonderful store with great sales! Also, Anthropologie just launched their new line inspired by the women in Mona Lisa Smile. It’s fabulous!

Leave a Reply

