Behold: January 20

Posted: January 20, 2010 in Uncategorized

I just finished the story of Joseph in Genesis and I was struck with how many times it said things like this:

  • “And his father wept for him.”  37:36
  • “…he was overcome with emotion and about to weep.” 43:30
  • “But he wept so loudly that the Egyptians heard it, and also Pharaoh’s household heard it.” 45:2
  • “Then Joseph threw his arms around Benjamin and wept on his shoulder.”  45:14
  • “Joseph kissed each of his brothers as he wept…” 45:15
  • “Joseph presented himself to him, threw his arms around him, and wept for a long time.”  46:29
  • “Then Joseph, leaning over his father’s face, wept and kissed him…” 50:1
  • “…they mourned for 70 days.” 50:3
  • “When they reached Atad, they lamented and wept loudly, and Joseph mourned seven days for his father.”  50:11

I hate crying.  Hate it.  I’d rather wrap my sorrow up in a box and tie it with a string and move on to a happier day.  But I’m finding that happier doesn’t necessarily mean healthier.  I’m thankful God is not afraid of my pain or my sadness.  I’m grateful that He hasn’t asked me to suck it up and be a big girl all the time.  He makes room for the expression of sorrow and even offers a supernatural shoulder to cry on.

Behold: tears.  They’re powerful cleansing agents.

Comments
  1. Jenn Hoff says:

    Oh Bo. I tell you “thanks” so often, but I’m going to do it again. Thank you for this. Joseph has been my story for awhile (you know…the one you keep going back to because you can relate in so many ways somehow) and I’ve never noticed all the tears before. They are important and I’m so glad to notice they’re there. Thank you.

  2. Tracy says:

    personally, I fall into the “Lamented and wept loudly” catagory…most people don’t have the pleasure of experiencing this part of my life, so I wanna know how you got a close up of my eye:) HA! Crying is a great friend and I behold the little drops that are collected by my Great God! Thanks Bo!

  3. Shelly says:

    Hey Bo – I’m catching up on reading some of my favorite blogs (which includes yours) and thought you might enjoy this quote as it relates to your Joseph post: “There is a sacredness in tears. They are not the mark of weakness, but of power. They speak more eloquently than ten thousand tongues. They are messengers of overwhelming grief…and unspeakable love.” Washington Irving

  4. Elyxis says:

    I’m thankful too that Jesus is always there 🙂 Thanks for being awesome Bo!

Leave a Reply

