Behold: January 6

Posted: January 6, 2010 in Uncategorized

Fact: I really hate wet feet.  And I love open-toed shoes.

Fact: My windshield wipers aren’t that great so it’s nearly impossible to see when it’s raining at dusk.

Fact: I moved from the rainy valley to sunny Bend.

And here’s a poem for your reading enjoyment:

I don’t like rain.

I don’t like it in the car,

I don’t like it in a jar.

I don’t like it in the trees,

I don’t like it on my kees.

I don’t like it on my chin,

or in any tent I’m in.

I don’t like rain.

And yet – here are some other facts I ran into in my inbox tonight (after sloshing my way in the door and shaking every wet article of clothing into a puddle on the floor):

  • 3.575 million people die each year from water-related disease.
  • 84% of water-related deaths are in children ages 0 – 14.
  • 884 million people, lack access to safe water supplies, approximately one in eight people.
  • The water and sanitation crisis claims more lives through disease than any war claims through guns.
  • Every 15 seconds, a child dies from a water-related disease.

Behold, rain and the clean water it provides.

I really am thankful.

Comments
  1. Julie O'Neill says:

    I am thankful that the rain chased both you and my husband and I out of the valley to “sunny” Central O so I could have the blessed chance to meet you!

    -Julie
    http://www.runninggalinsights.blogspot.com

  2. Karen says:

    Behold! You do not live in North Dakota where it is -51 today!

  3. bolovesjoe says:

    Julie and Karen – I agree with both of you completely!

Leave a Reply

