Behold: January 3

Posted: January 3, 2010 in Uncategorized

In a city whose happiness rises and falls with the snow level, today was a sparkling example of why we love living here.  It’s okay here to be cold and outside.  It’s okay to get out and walk or run or even ride a bike on days that might to others seem perfect only for being wrapped in the snuggie by the fire.  Here, we do both.  We go out and breathe and we come inside and thaw.  And I love it.

Steve and I went for a long walk around the Deschutes River today.  We sucked in the crisp air.  Tossed rocks onto the floating ice.  Ducked into the Gap to look for jeans that are cool enough for Josiah (I talked him into skinny jeans a couple of months ago and now he won’t wear anything else).  Dreamed about a day when our kids are grown and we can move into one of the beautiful condos on a bluff above the river.  We just walked and talked and absorbed our friendship and this lovely day.

So, the tough part about Behold and Enjoy today is picking one thing…it’s all been so good.  But, when it’s all said and done, the winner is:  legs!  I’m grateful today for legs that work, that take me where I want to go, that could dance if I could dance (I can’t) and could run fast if I really wanted to (I don’t) and just generally let me keep moving.

Behold, legs!  I’m really thankful.

Comments
  1. Aïda says:

    You are the BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. ci says:

    I am in complete agreement with you! I’m so grateful for legs that are strong work with no pain.

Leave a Reply

