Behold and Enjoy: 1-1-09

Posted: January 1, 2010 in Uncategorized

Here’s an interesting quote I stumbled upon recently in my search for some kind of meaning in the book of Ecclesiastes (this is from Eugene Peterson’s commentary on the book:

“A man must render an account before God for all the good things he beheld, but didn’t enjoy.” – Jerusalem Talmud

Hmmm.  Challenging words for me.  2009 was hard, but overwhelmingly filled with good gifts.  Excellent things.  Lovely God-breathed moments.  And yet, I think that when I give an account before God, it will be something like, “Yes, I did notice the beautiful kids You gave me, but why was the economy such a mess?”  I could write about a million similar sentences that would perfectly describe my attitude this year.  So.  I want 2010 to be very different.  I very much want to behold and enjoy the amazing goodness of God in my world, my home, my job…my year.

Toward that end, I’m going to be posting a Behold post every day.   Not really for you, though you’re welcome to read them.  I’m going to write them down so that I keep thinking and seeing how God works in my life and in my world.  I’m giving myself a little grace in the posting – 7 days worth – but even if I don’t post it, I’m going to intentionally THINK thankful.

Having giving you a really long and circuitous introduction, here is my first Behold and Enjoy for 2010:

This morning I found myself with absolutely NO clean clothes and you know what I did?  I put them in my washer which lives in my downstairs.  And then I put them in my dryer which lives 2 inches from my washer.  Now, please understand that BOTH our washer and dryer broke down in 2009 – within two weeks of one another.  Steve and I decided that we would buy them for each other for Christmas.  Ew.  Who really wants to toast the new Maytags on Christmas eve?  Not me, that’s who.  Not Steve, that’s who else.  Therefore, we hit up Craigslist and we found a perfect set of appliances that a couple was selling because their new home already had brand new ones…and we bought these guys for – ready?  – $125.  10% of what we thought we’d spend and I love them.  They’re great.  And I still got my New England Primer and white gold earrings and other awesome things for my Christmas.  Long story short (I know, too late):  today, I loaded my clothes into the washer and took them out of the dryer just about an hour later, clean and dry and smelling like Bounce and for that, I’m just really, truly thankful.

Behold, my washer and dryer.  I truly enjoy them and I am so thankful.

Bo

Leave a Reply

