Remembering Mimi

Posted: December 17, 2009 in Uncategorized

Late in the evening on December 9, came the text: “Just gave birth.  We’re ready.”

Through the 9-degree night, through security, down a hospital hallway lined with adorable baby pictures,  I found them: Russ, Ruth and Mimi, spending a little time together before saying goodbye.  Mimi fit in the palm of Ruth’s hand but everything about her was dear and darling and gave glimpses of the future that could have been – a future that would now be spent running through the halls of  Heaven.

About a year ago, I had dedicated the Crawmer’s daughter, Macy, who just happens to be one of my favorite little girls of all time.  When they found out that baby Mimi had died, they called and asked if I would come when she was born and dedicate her as well.  “Honored” is not nearly a strong enough word to describe what I felt to be asked. There really is no appropriate word.

Together, we prayed and thanked Jesus that all of His purposes had been fulfilled for Mimi, that none of His words over her would fall to the ground, and we reminded ourselves that He is a good and faithful Father.  No matter what.  As much grace as it requires for Russ and Ruth to let me steal little Macy during a worship service at church,  imagine how lovely and generous they are (oh dear, crying unashamedly right now) to allow me some time holding this little beauty.  Those minutes you have with a baby you won’t be taking home are dear and precious and it’s only the truly selfless mom and dad who would give some of them up to a pastor.  But that’s Russ and Ruth.  That’s their life and their legacy…and it will certainly outlive them.

I spent some time holding baby Mimi and I just knew.  I can’t explain it, but I knew that – though she was with Jesus –  in my hands I held all the first days of school and first dates and the walk down the aisle on the arm of her dad.  I knew I was holding Disneyland and ballet lessons and Hello Kitty backpacks.  Though Mimi’s life had begun perfectly completed in the presence of Jesus, for her family, so much felt unfinished and unreal.  It was one of the most difficult and wonderful moments of my life, feeling sad to lose so much but also so connected to heaven.

If you think of it this holiday season, please pray for my friends as they walk through the valley of the shadow of death.  Pray for their hearts,  their children and their home.  They are strong and will do great, but maybe our prayers could help them feel great, you know?  For me, I am freshly reminded that life is real and valuable and worth protecting with  just about anything we have.

Loving the God who steals away the sting of death,

Bo

Comments
  1. Cathy Turk says:

    Bo,
    Not in anyway to diminish your experience. Just want to say, that having watched our oldest son’s spirit pass from this life to the next was indeed a most sacred moment. Was a precious gift that i’ll never forget.

Leave a Reply

