I really, really want this for Christmas

Posted: December 14, 2009 in Uncategorized

I mentioned recently that I’ve been deeply impacted by The Truth Project. One of my favorite sessions in the series is “The American Experiment” – an honest look at why and how our country came to be and what we have become in the past 200 years.  It has been amazing to revisit the root system of our nation and rediscover the ways that our founding fathers sought to weave the truth of the Word of God into the fabric of our society.  One  big way they accomplished that was to start early.  The New England Primer was the first text book ever written for American education and was used from day one in public school.  First graders then learned English through a context of the Word of God and principles of morality were woven into every area of education.

Take a look at these spelling words:

And moral precepts:

And spiritual truth – not a section, but everywhere.

So, for Christmas I really want a New England Primer.  And that should be no problem because copies are easy to get a hold of, and pretty inexpensive.  Except I don’t want a copy.

I want this one.

Badly.

I went to public school in 1971 and in 1971, I learned that Spot can run instead of learning the dangers of covetchesness, covetting, covetousness.   Therefore, I am a product of my education and have no choice but to continue wishing for this book. How about you?

If money was no object, what would you want to find beneath your tree this year?

Dreaming of reading,

Bo

Comments
  1. Susan from Nebraska says:

    When you get to be my age all you really need anymore is to love and be loved. I just want to make a difference in someone’s life that will count for Eternity….in fact….I want to make that difference it MANY LIVES in 2010!!!!
    So, what do I need to accomplish this???? I just need to study and learn and believe all that the Lord tells me I am! I mean, really believe it…..and then I know my wish will come true!
    It’s going to be a fruitful year…..and busy!!!
    Also, I wish we could be together Bo….if only for coffee!

  2. Heather says:

    If I could have anything I wanted this Christmas it would be for my sister, who is one of the most amazing, loving people I know, to come to know and love Jesus. It’s not something money can buy, but it’s something I pray for every day. She struggles in her marriage, and in her self-image, and though I tell her often of the amazing things God has done for me in those (and lots of other) areas, she still just sort of smiles and gives me the “That’s great, sis,” and ends the conversation as quickly as she can. I pray that God will put someone in her life (even if it’s not me) who can speak these truths to her in a way that she can accept. I love her so much, and the thought of eternity without her in it saddens me beyond belief.
    Oh, and here’s one money could buy – to have my mortgage paid off so I could quit worrying about it!
    Sorry if that was a downer. Merry Christmas, Bo, to you and your lovely family! (And a special Merry Christmas to Tori from her little buddy, Phillip!)

  3. bolovesjoe says:

    Aw, I love BOTH these Christmas wishes!

  4. Joy says:

    a cruise. I said it. Vacation. Buffets. Tanning. My shallowness knows no bounds.

  5. Tracy says:

    My kids would say a kitten but that’s not gonna happen. I would say more than anything I would like to see a ‘do-over card’ under my tree. One with the power to change what I can not change and fix what I can not fix and make different what is already done. Thank God for Jesus! Love you Bo, and if i had $2500 I’d buy you the book:)

  6. bolovesjoe says:

    Love YOU, Tracy, and I don’t think you need the do-over card because you serve the God who changes what you cannot change and fixes what you cannot fix. And He has used every day in front of this one to make you who you are and who you are is right. Real. Honest. Strong.

    Here’s to a brilliant 2010, my friend.

    Joy – If you go, I’ll go. Even hating water as I do, I’ll force myself to cruise and eat and tan with you…because that’s the kind of aunty I am.

Leave a Reply

