Christmas Tea and Feathers

Posted: December 12, 2009 in Uncategorized

This is the year that Tess and I made the big decision to hostess a table at our church’s Christmas Tea.   As Christmas Teas go, this one is the Superbowl.  The Academy Awards.  The Big Ka-stinkin-huna.  Every year the tickets sell  out like a U2 concert and then our church worship center is transformed into a wonderland of Rockwellian beauty.  Forty-something tables are hosted by women who own china that would make the Queen envious and decorating skills that would send Martha Stewart reeling.

You may be wondering at this point:  does Bo have fabulous decorating skills?  Heh.   And no.  However, Tess and I like to tackle crazy projects together and we thought it would be fun.  So we embarked upon the journey with gusto and verve.  We determined early on that – though we have Christmas china – it was too boring for what we hoped to accomplish.  Based on that decision, we began to think of ways to do something really bright and nontraditional.  That seed of an idea kept growing until we found ourselves perhaps a bit unbalanced and quite possibly unhinged.  When we arrived to decorate, we found a sea of breathtaking Christmas beauty such as this:

And this…

And also, this beauty here:

In fact, just the spoons from this table made our table tremble with fear:

So, ours didn’t look quite like these.  Perhaps because we shopped in the bachelorette party section of Michael’s instead of the Christmas section.  Perhaps.  However, before I show you our table, I want you to see our hot server.

Okay, really I put that picture in there to help you forget the memory of those other tables and prepare your heart and mind and eyeballs for this:

Holy Pink!  I really love feathers and find so few places in decorating where they can be used effectively.  These particular pink feathers belonged to a very tasteful feather boa, much like the one Ginger used on the episode of Gilligan’s Island when she sang I Wanna Be  Loved by You.  Boop-boop-be-doo.

And each of our teacups got its very OWN Ginger boa, as shown here:

Here are the favors.

Inside the Chinese takeout container was NOT leftover Moo Goo Gai Pan, though that would have been cool.  Inside the box was sparkly Christmas slippers!

One very cool and unforseen feature of our table was the way the twinkling lights around the feather boa shone through our water pitcher, making it look like radioactive Hawaian Punch:

Um, I know that looks like a frothy island cocktail beside the water pitcher, but it’s really lemon curd which is a lovely accompaniment to scones or biscuits or licked straight off the spoon…not that I would know that firsthand.  Nor would I know about the frothy island cocktail firsthand.

Here are some of the lovelies brave enough to sit at our table:

That’s my pastor’s wife, Linda and her beautiful daughters and they were so much fun.  Funny, clever women, each one of them and they embraced the pink party with enthusiasm.

It was actually a really fun event and I had a great time doing it with Tess.  I’m glad that – even though unconventional – our table reflected a little 14-year-old, a little 44-year-old and a whole lot of Ginger, because it’s always good for us to remember that beauty comes in many shades of feathers.

Jingling all the way,

Bo

P.S.  Apologies to Tess’ editing skills which were used on these pictures but I didn’t know how to download those – so these are the straight out of the camera shots and she would have preferred I used the finished ones.

P.P.S.  Apologies to  spellcheck because it also tried to edit this post through use of the red, squiggly line but I’m just not in the mood.

Comments
  1. College Daughter says:

    I LOVE your table! I would totally sit at that table(but if yours weren’t there I’d rock the pearl spoons.) I wish I could have gone, you two did a lovely job.:)

    Love,
    Impressed College Daughter.

  2. Gwen says:

    Nice Bo! I heard about it and was disappointed that I hadn’t seen it – now I have! Always a sad thing if you don’t make it around to check out all the tables. And Tess’ pictures are GREAT.

  3. Bo-
    That’s great. You remind me of my mom and I. =)
    I hope you are having a blessed Christmas season! Hey, can you reccomend a Bible study or 2 that you have really enjoyed?
    Bless you!
    Megan

    (P.S. I met you at the Hope Foursquare Womens retreat 2 years ago…This year, my friend prayed for me about fear once again, and the Spirit brought to mind the root of that fear, and I have been FREED and have so much more joy now! I’ve meant to tell you for quite some time…)

  4. Karen says:

    Oh what fun! I love it! Even the scary punch!

  5. Sarah says:

    Love your style! You two know how to rock some table decorations. Who else would have thought of hot pink?!? Very cool…

Leave a Reply

