More Books

Posted: December 11, 2009 in Uncategorized

I read about The War of Art on a couple of blogs in one week and it was enough endorsement to make me buy it immediately.  If you are struggling to acheive something difficult – whether you consider it “artsy” or not, this book is great for getting you moving in the right direction.   The language is not spotless so be forewarned.  The concepts he talks about aren’t new, but they’re valuable and his style is aggressive and high-velocity and so I have to say that this book is on my top 10 list in terms of creating impact and motivation for life change.  Jon Acuff of Stuff Christians Like calls it the book that saved his book so that’s pretty high praise.  Buy it for anyone on your list whose dreaming of finishing that novel, starting a non-profit, becoming an artist or just in general wants to live their dreams.

What I saw at the Revolution by Peggy Noonan.  While I don’t always agree with her politics, I just love the way Peggy Noonan tells a story and turns a sentence.  She’s a great communicator and this is an insiders look at one of the most beloved Republican leaders in history.  It’s worth a read.  It’s an older title so you can get it really cheap and the political junkie or Reagan fan on your list would love it.

Barefoot Contessa, Back to the Basics, by Ina Garten.  For any cook or wannabe cook on your list, I think this is the one to choose.  Ina Garten’s style is fancy but not snooty.  She uses great but easy-to-find ingredients and generally avoids alienating home cooks who don’t have an education in culinary arts or access to saffron-infused truffle oil.

I know I said there would be fiction, but bottom line, I just don’t read it much.  Not because I don’t love it, but because I love it too much and it absorbs hours and days and I turn into a “Can’t you see I’m reading, here?” beast.  So.  I haven’t read anything fictional since summer vacation and everything I chose was non-recommendable and seriously so bad that I wanted to ask the authors for a refund of the time I spent reading them.  I will, however, recommend this book that we read every Christmas because it’s fun and moving and a nice twist on the Christmas story.

If you have a book recommendation for our Christmas shopping, please do tell!

Happy reading,

Bo

Comments
  1. Bo,

    My mom bought me Ina’s cookbook last Christmas…you see I call her Ina because we are chums…we cook dinner together and she helped me tremendously last week when we had a small dinner party to keep things simple…I love her…just want to be invited to a meal at her home…

    I had The War of Art in my hands a few weeks ago at Barnes and Noble but resisted the temptation because of the addiction problem I noted on a previous comment…but it is still on my list…there is project that has been looming for way too long…

    Bless you this day!

Leave a Reply

