Books, books and more books!

Posted: December 7, 2009 in Uncategorized

I’m in a book-buying frenzy right now and, unfortunately, I’ve developed a significant twitch trying to get them all read.  It’s really time I admit it:  I have a problem and I need help.  I buy books because I love them but I stop reading them because I love the next book more than the book-in-progress.  Regardless of my issues, I know it’s Christmas and you might be looking for cool gifts for your literati-friends.  Here are some I’m lovin:

Confessions of a Public Speaker, by former Microsoft big-shot, Scott Berkun.  It’s funny, honest and reeeeally practical.  It’s great for anyone on your list who loves or loathes public speaking, preaching, teaching, presentations, etc.  Here’s a quote that I found remarkably convicting:

“…when 100 people are listening to you for an hour, that’s 100 hours of people’s time devoted to what you have to say. If you can’t spend 5 or 10 hours preparing for them, thinking about them, and refining your points to best suit their needs, what does that say about your respect for your audience’s time? It says that your 5 hours are more important than 100 of theirs, which requires an ego larger than the entire solar system. And there is no doubt this disrespect will be obvious once you are on the stage.”

One item to note:  Berkun’s language is not altogether sparkly clean.  Ye be warned.


The Organic God by Margaret Feinberg.  Easy to read, not to be confused with shallow-in-thought.  All about the simplicity of being loved by God and finding His beauty, voice and direction in all the areas of life.  My second time through, loving it.

Walking with God: Talk to Him.  Hear from Him.  Really. by John Eldredge.  Just getting started on this one and I can already tell it’s from God for me during this season of my life.  The book covers one year through Eldredge’s life as he learns to hear God’s voice and become “whole and holy.”  I also bought the companion workbook but I’m not very good at doing workbooks, so we’ll see how it goes.

do hard things

If you’ve got a teen or pre-teen on your Christmas shopping list this year, you can’t go wrong with the book Do Hard Things: A Teenage Rebellion Against Low Expectations,  by Alex & Bret Harris.  My daughter, Tess, is reading it, loving it and has promised to write a review of it for my blog when she’s finished.   You can stay tuned for that, but I can already vouch for the benefits of getting this book into the grubby hands of the kids you love.

Tomorrow, part 2 –  a plethora of marriage, fiction and politics.

Jingling all the way to Barnes & Noble,

Bo

P.S.  Don’t forget about http://www.half.com.  I bought three of these books at half and – even with shipping – they were less than one of them would have been at Amazon.



Comments
  1. Good morning Bo!

    It is so good on this cold morning to know that I am not alone in my magnetism towards books…I have been fueling it by placing holds at the library and you should see the line up along my bedroom wall…I could use an intervention I suppose

    I have been wanting to read one of Margaret Feinberg’s books…perhaps I will be strong and put it on my Christmas list…and fight the urge to click my mouse…

    Have a great day…oh and I wrote a post on that huge verb love the other day and I see you have been pondering it as well…

  2. I vaguely remember a time in my life when I had time to read a book…..
    ….vaguely….

Leave a Reply

