Things that rarely work the way they’re supposed to

Posted: November 12, 2009 in Uncategorized
  1. sea monkeysThe popcorn button on the microwave.
  2. Any “breakthrough” hair removal product
  3. Vacuum cleaners (though I must say my Dyson is giving me hope; that thing can pick up small civilizations hiding in my carpet)
  4. Age-defying makeup
  5. Ibuprofen from the Dollar Tree
  6. Universal remotes
  7. Infomercial knives
  8. Sea monkeys
  9. My budget
  10. Citronella candles

In a world that overpromises and underperforms, I’m really thankful for Jesus.

Wishing you a disillusionment-free Thursday,

Bo

Comments
  1. Christa says:

    I can personally verify #3 (Dyson and all) and #7.

  2. Cathy Turk says:

    I would like to add to # 5, if it would help anyone!
    Envelopes from the Dollar Store, YUCK..

  3. Don’t get me started on Sea Monkey…huge disappointment…frankly, I don’t think I am over it…and those sea crystals too…

    Rejoicing with you that we can put our faith in One that never disappoints!

  4. Who can afford dysons these days? There is a dyson that I’ve seen at Target that’s a purple cannister vacuum, and it looks like something straight out of ghost busters. It’s wicked cool, but a bit out of my $100ish budget. I got the Bissel Pet Hair Eraser instead. With a $25 gift card back and a $20 mail in rebate 🙂 I like it a lot. So far it isn’t disappointing.

  5. bolovesjoe says:

    Christa – do you have a Dyson? I just got mine a month or so ago and I love it so far…but I’ve had such bad experiences with vacuums that I keep waiting for it to stop working.

    Helen – here’s a funny question: are Sea Monkey ads still around? I never bought any, but I LONGED to…when it says, “Can even be trained”…that’s exactly the kind of language I fall for. I could imagine myself and my well-trained Sea Monkeys being the star at 5th grade show & tell. My mom, however, was a wise woman and never let me order them. I might not be over THAT! 🙂

    Kristin – I got mine at Costco and it was significantly cheaper than anything I found online. They don’t always carry them – and they typically only have them in stock at the same moment when I have no money to buy them – but this time all the planets aligned and I am so glad to own that wonderful thing! I’m also glad to hear about the pet eraser, though, because I was wondering about those.

  6. Portland College Daughter says:

    Study dates. I never get anything done, I just talk to my friends, haha.

    I like numbers 2 and 9.:) This is a universal boat, I feel.

  7. bolovesjoe says:

    Cathy – great tip..I’ll leave those envelopes alone!

    Tori – I thought you had jumped the #9 boat and were swimming for the Dave Ramsay shore? 🙂

  8. Tracy says:

    #3 Dyson’s rock! Worth every penny and I had 3 dogs, 2 kids and a concrete man at my house:)

    I will add…New Years Resolutions, never ever rarely if ever work. So I will let my no be no and my yes be yes and only resolve to be a daughter of the most High King:)

  9. Karen says:

    For the first time in my life I have kept a new year’s resolution…may even make it until 12/31. The resolution? I promised not to paint my husband’s toenails when he falls asleep watching TV. It was supposed to teach him a lesson about the rudeness of crashing while spending time with me, and it’s hecka funny to see a man suddenly notice his toenail is glossy…but it was kind of mean. I have resisted despite great temptation.

  10. Christa says:

    I do have a Dyson. We went through a Kirby and a Riccar prior to that. Got our Dyson as a certified refurbished model from Fry’s this last year. We love it, and it’s so easy to keep clean!

  11. Christa says:

    Regarding the price of the Dyson, I think we paid $189 for ours and we had an amazing $200 gift card, so it was actually nothing out of pocket. Jesus is so good! 🙂

  12. Jenn Hoff says:

    Oh my. good list.
    Question: Now what do I do if my Thursday wasn’t disillusionment free? What is the right thing for a girl to do with her disillusionments, I wonder? And is it just my own darn fault when I find myself so sadly disillusioned with all the really important things on a Thursday (or the Monday after said Thursday?)
    …just wondering.

  13. bolovesjoe says:

    Hey Jennie,

    Know what DOESN’T delude? Your mittens, that’s what. Because they are a delight! Love ’em!

Leave a Reply

