Pressed

Posted: November 4, 2009 in Uncategorized
1. to act upon with steadily applied weight or force.
2. to move by weight or force in a certain direction or into a certain position: The crowd pressed him into a corner.
3. to compress or squeeze, as to alter in shape or size: He pressed the clay into a ball.
4. to weigh heavily upon; subject to pressure.

Those are the first four definitions for the word “press”  – a sensation I have definitely experienced this year.  I have felt pressed, weighted, forced, moved, compressed and squeezed to such a degree that I would agree that my shape has been altered.  It’s not been entirely (heh) comfortable.  Sometimes, I’ve wanted to run from the pressing.  However, here’s another hidden and wonderful definition for this crazy little word:

5.  to hold closely, as in an embrace; clasp: He pressed her in his arms.

I have definitely experienced this one in abundance.

Aside from the “pressed but not crushed” verse in 2 Corinthians 4 (which is worth a re-read if it’s been awhile), here’s one of my favorites when it feels like the walls are closing in:

How great is the goodness You have stored up for those who fear You. You lavish it on those who come to You for protection, blessing them before the watching world.
You hide them in the shelter of Your presence, safe from those who conspire against them. You shelter them in Your presence, far from accusing tongues.
Praise the LORD, for He has shown me the wonders of His unfailing love. He kept me safe when my city was under attack.
In panic I cried out, “I am cut off from the LORD!” But You heard my cry for mercy and answered my call for help.
Love the LORD, all you godly ones! For the LORD protects those who are loyal to Him, but He harshly punishes the arrogant.
So be strong and courageous, all you who put your hope in the LORD!

Psalm 31

May you know the hugging love of Jesus today,

Bo


Comments
  1. Aïda says:

    Have I told you lately? YOU’RE THE BEST!

  2. Anne says:

    Awesome Bo. Thanks for this!

Leave a Reply

