Feast Your Eyes

Posted: October 17, 2009 in Cooking
Tags:

After a brief dance with winter weather, Autumn returned to the high desert this week just as my kids were felled by a feisty flu fiasco (awesome alliteration!) and I found myself stuck in the house.  A friend had recently recommended  Food Gawker and so I decided to spend some time getting to know this clever little web site.  Well, I have now pledged my undying love and timeless devotion. Pinky swear.  Food Gawker is so overloaded with gorgeous photography and incredible recipes that I never know quite where to start; it’s truly a feast for the eyes and the heart (alliteration and rhyming in one post!) Here’s the link to the site: www.foodgawker.com.

apple-galettes-on-wood-ii2 Here’s what I made this week while my kids were home de-fluing.

Nothing says “I love you” quite like homemade french pastries on a cold fall day.  They’re not super fast, but my husband declared them, ‘The best thing you’ve ever made: apple pie division.”  And I will use this crust recipe for every crusty thing I make henceforth and forever.  It’s that good.

We’re still fighting the flu fight here at Casa de Stern, but I think we’re on the up side.  I hope your family is warm, well and content.

Fall Love,

Bo

Comments
  1. Karen says:

    Well you inspired me to greet Fall with a smile and so I’ve whipped up some pumpkin muffins (narrowly avoided last years’ mess when I made a double batch) and a carrot cake. And I didn’t put any (close your ears) nutmeg in either.

    That pasty looks amazing so that goes on the list for the next time my step son visits – he can handle the calories….

    So far we’ve avoided the flu here…hoping we can continue that pattern.

    Bless you and your poor sick family!

  2. Sarah says:

    pumpkin fudge????? craziness! everything on that page makes me drool.

  3. Aïda says:

    Thank you, Bo! What a great website!

    “Food Gawker is so overloaded with gorgeous photography and incredible recipes”…ohhh, so right!

    You are so the BEST!

  4. Sandy Shores says:

    Bo,

    Thank you for posting this recipe. They looked so delicious that my mom & I got together today & made them. THEY ARE AWESOME!!!! We drizzled a little glaze on top too. I was thinking a little carmel drizzle would be good.

    Bless you,

    Sandy

  5. bolovesjoe says:

    Thanks, Ladies…I love to inspire people to love fall weather and fall calories as much as I possibly can!

    Sandy – I was thinking that same thing – that they would be great with caramel. Also, I saw a recipe that was similar that included cranberries and that’s on the “try ASAP” list as well!

Leave a Reply

