I dare you to be mad at fall

Posted: September 28, 2009 in Uncategorized

Oh fall…you’re so good to me!  Here are some of my favorite things about the magical season of autumn.

Fall mumsFall mums.  Love them.  Except here’s a funny story:  our small-town high school (hi, Albany!) used to celebrate homecoming with mums.  Therefore, the boys would ask a girl to the dance and then would buy her a yellow mum the size of her head, tied with a bright blue ribbon.  A more hideous corsage has never been created, but still…I love mums.  Me and Josiah bought one for each of our neighbors this year.  We wrapped the pots with pretty orange ribbon and then stuck a toothpick-glued sign in the dirt that said, “Welcome Fall!  We’re so thankful to have you for neighbors!”  When it was all said and done, we spent less than $20 ($2 mums at Home Depot, ribbon and card stock) and have heard from every single neighbor.  Also, Josiah learned a God-sized lesson in loving well and there’s no substitute for that kind of action, I tell you.

shot-scarvesScarves are delicious.  I used to be scarf-impaired.  I didn’t know how to wear them the right way so they always ended up assaulting or abandoning me.  Now, however, I’m brilliant with scarves and wear them as soon as I possibly can wear them without suffering heat stroke.

Apple ciderOkay, this one is more of a philosophical liking than a literal liking.  Because I don’t drink sweet stuff of any sort.  But seriously, how cool are these jugs of spiced apple cider?

fall_leaves_multi_colors_1Leaves.  Duh.

pumpkin curry soup

Pumpkin Curry Soup.  Yum and amazing.  I just tried it this year and we love it with toasty crostini. Here’s the recipe I used, but please ignore the ‘pumpkin tureen” unless you’re one of those moms who sews your child’s Spiderman costume for the class Halloween party yourself.  The recipe itself uses canned pumpkin and it’s very delicious.

pumpkin-butter

Last year I gave my reasons.  They’re still true in 2009.

fall footballNot even kidding – I love fall football.  If you’ve never given it a try, I encourage you to take the leap, ignore the scantily clad cheerleaders and just watch the grit and strategy of it all.   I learned early from my daddy, who had three daughters and no choice but to teach them to game if he didn’t want to watch alone…but if you didn’t have a dad to teach you, here’s a good start.

Oh, I just love eating and learning and seeing and experiencing.  Aren’t seasons just amazing?

Happy Fall,

Bo

Comments
  1. Tracy says:

    The only thing I don’t like about fall are viruses and icky stuffy noses:(

    Mostly I like socks, really long ones that are full of life up to your knees, hidden by cute boots. Like a party that no one knows you’re having:)

  2. bolovesjoe says:

    Ha! Tracy, your comment is now one of my favorite things about fall and I will suspect you are having a party every time I see you. 🙂

  3. Louise says:

    One of my favorite things about fall are apples! O the variety! Crisp, juicy ones. A visit to the Fruit Loop around the Mt. Hood area is almost as exciting as hunting…for me, at least. (No guns.) And hot apple cider is the best! The aroma, and the soothing warm – from the inside out!

  4. Shelly says:

    So, I think there’s something wrong with the way my computer is opening up your page. It’s missing the tutorial on brilliant scarf wearing. There IS one, isn’t there…?

    Once again, you hit it out of the ballpark at Selah. I’ll be thinking and processing and praying about what you shared for many, many days. Thanks so much. (Although I was a little nervous for the gals in the front when you were holding those grapes…!)

Leave a Reply

