Fall, Schedules and a brush with the Dutch

Posted: September 21, 2009 in Uncategorized

I often bemoan the scheduling trends of Christendom – especially Christenwomandom.  Women – because of back-to-school stuff and the ever-expanding holiday season –  tend to schedule all their events in September and October or April and May.  I’m great with April and May – those are months that I like to fill as full as possible because in Central Oregon, there isn’t much else to do with them.  We don’t have much of a Spring ’round these parts so I pretty much live going from one rainy location to another and that’s just fine with me.  Fall, however, is a wonderful season and I love it dearly, but for the past few years it seems that nearly every weekend is filled.  This year, even the week days are filled with details as I finish up and launch The Joy Project and start another year with Cascade Life Commission.

I’ve gone on and on about all of this to say:  I know I keep breaking promises and not posting what I say I’ll post.  It seems that with regard to writing, my eyes are bigger than my free time.  Anyway, I promised last week or the week before – yikes! – that I would show you my birthday present.  Yay, birthdays!  I love mine.  It’s in the most beautiful time of year and this year it was on a Sunday and oh, how I love Sunday birthdays!  So, I have taken pictures of my beautiful birthday gift which my beloved searched and searched for…but I’ve never made time to connect the camera to the computer and actually download it.  Some things are very nearly beyond my capability and that’s one of them.  But because I’m a woman of my word and because Karen keeps asking, here’s a photo from the manufacturer of the brand new love of my life:

Orange Dutch oven

Oh, how I love her!  She weighs a lot but she isn’t insecure about her heft.  She embraces it and uses it to her advantage.  I love orange.  I love cast iron.  I love Steve for being willing to risk the title Unromantic Gift Buyer of the Year by purchasing a kettle for my birthday.

Yesterday, my family took me to my favorite place for breakfast and then I cooked dinner for everyone last night.  Here’s what I made.  I followed the recipe exactly and it was a marvel.   A lot of work, for sure, but a truly a French classic.

So, this week is wall-to-wall busy, ending with the Selah conference on Saturday.  I love the Selah conference.  It’s my second year speaking there and I’m so excited to be with that great group of ladies again.  If you don’t have plans, it’s not too late to register – so many great speakers, great workshops, great worship, great women.  You can’t beat it with an orange dutch oven!

Til Next Week,

Bo

Comments
  1. Karen says:

    Oh great now I feel guilty for asking….
    I know you mentioned a cast iron dutch oven somewhere on your blog and I’ve searched for that post but cannot find it. I’m trying to learn if I need one of these babies, and if so, how badly…..it’s certainly gorgeous!

    I’m looking forward to Selah. I purchased 17 tickets (14 were sold when I did that) and even with a couple of cancellations I only have 1 left. I’m praying over that ticket as I just know there is a woman in my area who needs it!

    Bo, your talk at Selah last year was wonderful and I still remember your oh-so-cute red patent leather shoes. You are such a fashion trend setter! Thanks for leaving your family and home and traveling all the way to Portland to grace us with your presence, your wit and your wisdom. I often share snippets of your blog with friends so you bless many!

    I’m so looking forward to the Joy study and am still praying to see how God will direct me/our ladies in using it. We are in a season of change (oh my, that’s the topic for Saturday!) so I’ve been waiting, patiently, for the Holy Spirit to show me….still waiting….

    Sorry I pestered you!

  2. Karen says:

    OK I get a pass for having a muddled brain; I just scrolled a ways and found the post with the cast iron pot….sigh. See what our busy lives do to our minds?

  3. bolovesjoe says:

    Oh dear Karen – please don’t feel bad at all! They were wonderful reminders it’s always a treat to hear from you!

  4. Absent College Daughter says:

    I could probably write a few whitty(sp?) paragraphs here, but instead I’ll just say, “Stupid college.” Which is not whitty and a fragment sentence. I wish I could have been there for your yummy dinner, maybe next year.:)

    Thankful for Selah this weekend,
    Absent College Daughter.

  5. Shelly says:

    I love that recipe! I’ve made it several times and have folks all but licking their plate when they’re done. (Actually, I think one guy did lick his plate while I was out of the room, but I don’t have proof!)

    Looking forward to hearing you this weekend. I’ve listened to your talks from last year a couple of times this year. So hugely helpful to me and the group of women who attended with me.

    Praying for you…

  6. Lanelle says:

    I am also looking forward to this weekend, and am in complete agreement with you regarding fall and spring… I have one free weekend between now and November.

    I don’t know how I stumbled upon Selah last fall, but I was greatly encouraged – and I have also listened to all of the talks several times… You inspired me to be honest about “what I am being called to be when I grow up” – and I’m praying over baby steps in that process.

    praying for you!

Leave a Reply

